but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

in which our heroine asks that ageless question, "why don't i rate?"
Sunday, Jan. 05, 2003

Now Playing - the Giants game. Straight Man Crossing.
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Weird Searches du Jour

~ Tastes Like Chicken Rainbow Connection - a Korean search
~ mod wedding dress
~ gd folks
~ scholl sandals
~ mod haircut
~ decorator furniture mel - must have been looking for me, no?
~ h0usewife resume
~ h0usewife boots
~ lovely h0usewife
~ chicken mod now brings up this and this.
~ "but why am I telling you all this? and you, a perfect stranger" almost brought up this, but they found me anyway.
~ annoying windchimes
~ Yiddish h0usewife brings up this and this.
~ vernon kilns: tickled pink or heavenly days
~ d0minant h0usewife brings up this and this.
~ mod night
~ europ*rn
~ melanie kost p0rn
~ diary of a h0usewife


Yeesh. Still trying to restore the intestinal flora and fauna after last week's deforestation. To the extent that I actually bought some yogurt, something not high on my shopping list for at least the last couple of years. Getting there.

Here's last week's Friday Five, since it stayed up for more than a couple of days.

1. Do you wear any jewelry? What kind? I wear all the usual: earrings, rings, necklaces, bracelets, pins and the occasional ankle bracelet. No toe or belly rings.

2. How often do you wear it? I wear my wedding rings every day, augmented by others as the occasion or outfit warrants. Necklaces will usually make it on. I wear earrings only when I dress up - they just don't make the cut in the morning rush, plus they're annoying when I use the phone, which I do a lot during the day. Bracelets...again, it depends on the outfit. Ankle bracelets in the summer.

3. Do you have any piercings? If so, where? My ears are double-pierced. I've attempted to get third holes, but they never lasted. I have small earlobes. No piercings anywhere else.

4. Do you have any tattoos? If so, where? Can you say, "Grounds for divorce?"

5. What are your plans for the weekend? Well, since it's come and gone, I might as well take this opportunity to wrap up the past few days.

New Year's Day at David and Rick's was nice. It took me a while to get "into" the party, because as soon as we got there I was hit with a wave of tiredness, and it was all I could do to keep up with my end of the conversation. Several people were surprised to see Huz and me "in the same place at the same time," as someone put it. Hey, it happens every once in a blue moon! I perked up courtesy of the liberal application of cheese, guacamole and some Malibu & Cokes. We were the last to leave at around 11. Living up the block is a good thing.

The next two days at work were spent transcribing some tapes of our own "Wannsee Conference" last summer in Berlin. The theme was Berlin, the Holocaust and the Law, and I've made it through two speakers so far. It's interesting stuff, and almost a subliminal way of learning. But the contrast between the two speakers, wow. One's German, but fluent in English, so I don't know how much the language barrier comes into play. But she rambles and repeats, and kills you with filler phrases like "so-called," "in other words," "in a manner of speaking," "that is to say...." The other speaker is American, and is all about the facts of the story he's relating. Clear, concise and very easy to comprehend. It's actually almost enjoyable, because it's much easier to type what's being fed into my head than to "sight-read" it off paper. And I was googling like a madwoman to make sure I got names and places spelled correctly so as to not look like an idiot. So that part's educational, too.

Saturday was another performance of Late Night B'way. I was annoyed going in. Once again, Mel wonders what she has to do to "rate" in the world of Long Island theatre. I've known F. for ten years. We've played opposite each other many times, and will again in My Way next month. We got into a "discussion" about what constitutes a ballad. Silly, no? I rehearsed the other night, and he wasn't paying attention to what I was doing because he was busy with other things. Which is fine. But he emailed me Friday saying the show seemed "ballad-heavy" and I "basically had 2 ballads (I KNOW one's a powerballad.)" [His words, verbatim.] First off, I don't believe my song could be strictly defined as a ballad because it moved a lot in its middle section, which he'd have known if he'd been listening. Secondly, I then went to my lesson and prepared an uptempo. Which I would have been ready to do, but he emailed me saying he thought he had enough, and "remember for the future NEVER 2 ballads." So I was back to doing my one song. Whereas another girl he worked with once back in the day got two songs, and as a measure of her perspicacity had no clue who wrote one of them. It's a frickin' standard. By Harold Arlen, by the way.

I show up. I dress up. I sing interesting songs, and I know my words, and I don't sound like shit. And believe, me, I've seen people do all three at once. And yet I only rate one song. I just don't get it.

I don't have the energy to continue this mini-rant. It's a new year, and I should put this behind me. But it still hurts. Every time.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
1 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com