but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

shoes!
Friday, Oct. 04, 2002

Now Playing -
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Today's Friday Five takes on one of my favorite topics...SHOES!

1. What size shoe do you wear? 6 - 6� depending on the type of shoe. Pumps, or flats that I wear some sort of sock with, I go to a 6� for comfort's sake. I've taken a 7 in sneakers so's not to crunch my toes.

2. How many pairs of shoes do you own? Quite a few, much to my husband's dismay. Maybe 30? 40 pair? A lot of them are dance shoes.

3. What type of shoe do you prefer (boots, sneakers, pumps, etc.)? I favor lace-up shoe boots (think granny boots without a heel) for winter. For summer, strappy sandals. I hate big clunky platform shoes. I have small feet - why would I want to make them look amazonian? I wear my shoes to death; I'm very hard on them. This summer I bought two pair of Dr. Scholl's sandals for the first time since I was a kid. I missed them! But it was tough getting used to them again!

4. Describe your favorite pair of shoes. Why are they your favorite? My favorite dress shoes are low-heeled black Nine West suede pumps. They're virtually indestructible, and I've has them so long the lining is shredding. My favorite dance shoes of the moment are a pair of spectator jazz oxfords. They have a short cuban heel and are just too smart. I'm thinking of having them soled so I can wear them as street shoes.

5. What's the most you've spent on one pair of shoes? Probably in the vicinity of 100-120 dollars for dance shoes (good ones, or specific shoes for a character). Ballroom shoes can be very expensive, and sometimes they're the only kind of dressy shoe I can buy that I'll be able to move in onstage. I've probably spent up to 60-65 dollars for street shoes.


So I took a yoga class last night. Yoga, you say? But Mel, you told us you were gonna take a tap class! Well, children, either I misheard my friend, or she misspoke. 'Cause tap's on Tuesday nights. Ah, well. So I stuck around to do the yoga. I'm sore today, in a good way. I was able to do a lot of the poses. I figured I would, because I'm pretty flexible, but of course I'd rather sit on my ever-expanding arse than stretch on a regular basis. But I was able to plow, and do the ball pose, and prep for a handstand with my feet on the mirror and my body at a 90 degree angle. Hard on the wrists. I got a little dizzy during some of the poses (usually when I'd be contorted and would have to focus on the ceiling) but didn't say anything, just rode it out. I didn't want her kicking me out of class. I have something called Benign Positional Vertigo, so putting my head in weird positions can be a little dicey. But bearable.

So here's the part where I tell y'all about my weekend. Voice lesson, hair coloring and cooking something nice to eat for the huz tonight. Tomorrow? Oh, maybe some laundry, maybe some cleaning, and singin' in the cabaret in the evening. The huz is actually coming to see this one! Sunday may include seeing my friend Sheila's one-woman show about Anne Sexton, and definitely includes rehearsal for the one night stand at Hofstra.

Have a good one.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com