but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

the mad decorator strikes again
Thursday, Oct. 31, 2002

Now Playing - "Concrete Sky" - Beth Orton, live
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Well, boo.

Did I scare ya?

People supposedly get dressed up for Halloween here at work. My boss and some cohorts have dressed as famous legal cases in the past - Brown v. Board of Ed., Roe v. Wade, etc. Which can be pretty funny if you think about it. I'm not dressed. Well, I have an audition later, so I'm better dressed than usual, but not in costume.

The rather large piece of furniture arrived yesterday. It's tall, but light. The bottom shelf is perfect for LPs, the next shelf up, coffee table books. Assembled in a snap, which we like. So the apartment is pretty near finished, furnishings-wise. That piece is on the wall to the right of the front door, followed by the heaviest piece of furniture ever made (which wasn't that heavy once assembled, thankfully). In between, since there's an outlet there, I'd wanted to put a floor lamp, but we have a very large Harvey Edwards poster that I got in college and my parents had framed (after my cat tromped all over it and wrinkled the damn thing, ahbutthat'sanotherstoryanyway) that would be ideal in that space. So I'll probably pass on the floor lamp in favor of a small lamp on the shelving unit like this one, which lives on my computer desk. Some small pieces of art to go over the big heavy pseudo-buffet, something to go over the dining room table, figuring out where to put the other Pottery Barn shelf I have, and some more tchotchkes to hang over our bed (we don't have a headboard, so I'm scattering objets d'art on the walls) and my decorating should be complete! Then I'll think about PAINT!!!

Bwahahahaha...Mel runs off cackling madly.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com