but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

does this entry taste like chicken?
Monday, Nov. 04, 2002

Now Playing -
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


It was a good weekend.

Some incredible meals, theatrical success, and winning a little money in the lottery'll do that to ya.

Thursday, I went out to Theatre Three to audition for My Way: The Frank Sinatra Musical. It's a replacement for something called Hula H00p Sha-B00p ::rolls eyes:: that got pulled from their schedule (which I'd thought had been a stupid choice anyway since they just did Leader of the Pack this summer.) So I sang "You'll Never Know," and the director wanted an uptempo, so I pulled one out of my butt and sang "This Really Isn't Me" from First Impressions, a (none-too-successful) musicalization of Pride And Prejudice that starred Polly Bergen six million years ago.

Has the underlining gotten too annoying yet? Just checking.

After the audition, I went out to dinner with my friend Tim at Pasta Pasta, which is one of my favorite restaurants. Tim and I had a lot of catching up to do. It was nice. And I had 4 red roses from the hubby waiting for me when I got home.

I played hooky from work the next day, and was going to have a voice lesson, but there was just too much stuff to do before our "departure." Instead I scooted back to work to get my paycheck, deposited it, and picked up some cologne for Huz as a gift. I was "Kamikaze Shopper" - went in, smelled what I liked, and got out! But it's easy because we have similar tastes.

I got an email when I returned home saying I'd gotten the Sinatra show. It'll mark my return to Theatre Three after 8� years. And I'll get to work with two talented friends, one of whom I've never worked with before. I'm pleased.

We got to the B&B around 4:30. Unpacked and lolled around till our 6:00 reservation at Inn on the Harbor (now known as 105 Harbor). We sat by the fireplace. We had a split of Veuve Clicquot. Impeccable service. Even the busboys were just so sweet. Huz had a lobster bisque that was positively redolent of real cream and, I think, sherry. I had venison and...frogs' legs! Which were pretty yummy, if you can get over the fact that you're looking at the bottom half of Michigan J. Frog; "Hello mah baby, hello mah honey...THUNK!" Visions of frogs rolling around on little wagons, like Porgy.

Don't ask me if they "taste like chicken" or I'll bite your little legs off too. The phrase just bugs me. Right off the bat, how can an amphibian taste like chicken? Rattlesnake...alligator...chicken??? I just don't follow the thought process. Ostrich, maybe, since it actually is a bird...but to me ostrich is more meaty. It's cooked like meats are. Even shark has an almost meaty texture. Alligator and frog (I cannot believe I'm actually writing about this...my vegan friends would plotz) are more of a poultry-seafood hybrid. It's kind of tough to classify. But the texture and blandness of chicken just don't factor into the equation for me.

Back to our cozy room, and eventually we collapsed into a food-induced coma.

The next morning, Huz awoke and went to sit in the common room. I lazed about for a while longer. He came back in at around the time I was supposed to get up, and said, "You don't know how dangerously close we came to having our lives altered." We got four out of five numbers in Take 5. Five numbers would have meant at least $100,000. Pay off our debts-new car-down payment money. Four numbers? Maybe a thou. But still, we won something! ::Mel looks around furtively, spits over her shoulder::

We shpatsired (that's your Yiddish Word o' The Day, kids, and it means to stroll or window shop) around Cold Spring Harbor after breakfast, and bought yet more tchotchkes (Yiddish again, but if you don't know this one I ain't botherin') for the apartment!

A brief sidebar, while I attempt to explain my obsession with home furnishings.

starlet101 added me as a favorite over the weekend (thanks, btw), and included this comment: "for some reason, i'm becoming addicted. she likes furniture." Which amused me no end! Here's one part of the reason, aside from the base material yearnings we all have. My husband's a Cancer, I'm a Pisces. Two of the most "homebody" signs of the zodiac. I love to be home, surrounded by things that please my eye and make me feel comfortable. This apartment was a blank slate to me when we moved in, and I'll admit I've gone a bit crazy with the decorating fever. But it's something I really enjoy, and it's been nice to buy some grown-up furniture in the bargain. Here's the second reason. Huz has a depressive personality. He is very easily stressed out, and his body doesn't handle it very well. This translates into my taking on certain responsibilities (managing our finances, paying bills, all the nitpicky business-type details) in order to make his daily life easier. If I can take care of some things each day and take the onus off him, I gladly do. And when he comes home, I want this place to look and feel like a haven to him. When he walks in the door, I want him to feel like this is the place where he comes to rest and relax after a hard day. And that's not too much to wish for the person you love, is it?

Back to the tchotchkes. I've discovered that I am just too "shabby chic" for words. Distress it, paint it antique white and finish it off with a nice crackle glaze and I'm there! And Cold Spring Harbor was more than willing to help me in my pursuit of all things faux-aged. We bought a wooden sailboat, and Huz picked up a scrimshaw keychain that he said reminded him of times spent sailing with Mark on the Great South Bay. And said he'd use it to remind himself to "live life, now." He'll get no argument from me.

More to come.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com