but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

on sunday...my day off!
Sunday, Oct. 27, 2002

Now Playing - football...on the football field...with...a football. Name the quote!
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


So we saw Mandy last night. The closest I've ever come to seeing him "live" is on Letterman. He's nuts. But in a good way. In a 2-hour concert, his range spanned from "Soliloquy" to "Motl der Operator" (one of three Yiddish songs, and the one that I knew) to "Taxi" to "Sam, You Made the Pants Too Long." Which was followed by "Cohen Owes Me Ninety-Seven Dollars," which (don't ask me how) I knew he was going to sing. And I don't even think I know "Cohen Owes Me Ninety-Seven Dollars." Okay, I've maybe heard it once in my life (maybe.) The only reason I know of it is because it's in an Irving Berlin book of mine. Anyway, his segues were seamless, and his accompanist, Paul Ford, must have been a mind reader in another life. He was that smooth in keeping time with Mandy's almost stream-of-consciousness style. I mean, Mandy was changing stuff as he went along. Ford had two books he was using, and he played some stuff with no music in front of him at all. You know it's a "meeting of the minds" type of collaboration when you can pull that off.

And Mandy sounded great. Nothing from Sunday in the Park, though. *sigh*

So we're in the lobby, and we look at the price on these tickets we got for free. $650!!!!!! We were in Row T of the orchestra. We had Gala seats. Wondered if we could have attended the dinner had we showed up early & been properly dressed. There may be the opportunity for more free tickets in the future, and Mandy talked about this "A Brief History of the Musical Theatre" thing that he and Patti LuPone had created...it'd be nice to score some tickets to that when it comes 'round.

Okay. That sounds cheap and ungrateful. As a person in the arts and a patron of the arts, I should be ready and willing to pay for tickets. But in my case, "patron" would be Webster's third definition - "one who buys the goods or uses the services offered especially by an establishment," not the first - "a wealthy or influential supporter of an artist or writer; a social or financial sponsor of a social function (as a ball or concert.)" I am poor. Not as poor as some, but poor enough. And if the generosity (or desperation, in this case - we think they were papering the house) of others enables me to see things I would otherwise not have the ability or possibly even the inclination to see, then I say so much the better for it. If it inspires me or anyone to make some art themselves, well I say hallelujah!

Financial counselor/guru Suze 0rman talks a lot about "the karma of money." One of the ways she suggests you create good karma is by giving to charity. Even if it's only in one small way. That small way should be something meaningful to you. Well, I support public radio. Yes, I reap the benefits of that support, but I like to think that in supporting something arts-related that is important to me, it translates somehow into what comes back to me in my artistic life in return.

End of discourse.

Gotta hit the showers - the parents are coming! The parents are coming!


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com