but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

trapped at work
Tuesday, Dec. 10, 2002

Now Playing - I'm trapped at work and the LADY RAMS are playing on 'FUV??? I could be HOME ignoring basketball!
Now Eating - technically none, but my legs actually hurt from all the running around I did yesterday.
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Weird Searches du Jour:

~ lazy housewife calls up this and this.

~ life as a jew

~ scholl sandals, in Italian! My "fans" are just too continental for words!


How come I can never recognize a Kim Richey song when I hear it?

So Friday night, I am foregoing caroling in favor of The Downtown Messiah. HB has organized this little excursion, since it's one of the things she really wants to do before she leaves New York. Not that my participating in this in any way implies my acquiescence to her leaving, or my belief that this will actually occur.

I'm going to get to hear Dar Williams, among others. Not quite the ideal situation in which to hear her live for the first time, but I'll take what I can get. David Johansen, Marshall Crenshaw, Jane Siberry and Terre Roche will also be singing, and Meg Griffin will be reading the recitative. Damn, do I miss Meg Griffin. 'FUV hasn't been the same since she left. Never mind her incredible musical taste, just to hear her talk intelligently about music and about other issues that mattered to her was always intriguing.

David has had yet another brainstorm that has resulted in employment for me. Jessica, a friend and former stage manager of ours, works in the Lawn Guyland library system. She provided the impetus for David to write Great Scott, and Zelda. She's looking to put on The Belle of Amherst for Women's History Month (March, fyi). David was just acting as intermediary at first, but once I said I was interested and it looked like a done deal (two performances at the libraries Jessica's affiliated with, for a start), he figured some direction would be needed. And he would be the guy to do it. It's a one-woman one-act (I believe) play about Emily Dickinson. At age 53. Ack! As he wrote, "We need to age you some, but not all the way to 53." Thank goodness for that. I'd get all crinkly from the latex!

*sigh* I'm trapped here at work until at least 10:00 tonight. An eleven-hour day. No good catalogs with me, so no shopping to be done, no games to play, no music to listen to. So, I update. It's going to be a long night.

Can I emphasize enough that I feel trapped at work???


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com