but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

room, with a view
Thursday, Oct. 05, 2006

Now Playing - Metsies!
Now Eating - nothing. I stuffed myself with shrimp tacos.
Now Feeling - ready for the weekend.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


We went on a field trip this afternoon to the new building, to get the guided tour and see what progress has been made. I didn�t mention it in my last entry, but we haven�t �moved shop� yet. The Big Dean is hoping for sometime this month. Me too, especially after seeing what limited progress has been made in the two weeks since my last visit. Well, we have carpeting! And parts of our workstations! And other staffers like their offices muuuuch less than we like ours, so let�s hear it for the schadenfreude!

I�ll have counter space. And working desk drawers that lock, not ones that have to be yanked open and that fall off their tracks. I won�t have to leave my purse on the floor. There�s space, and huge windows.

I�ll have been at The Little Law School, etc. 5 years next month. I�ve never felt at home in my workspace, mostly because there isn�t much space in which to actually work. Everything�s cramped, everything's filthy, everything�s falling apart. I�ve personalized my desk very little � my bobbleheads, a couple of pictures tacked to a corkboard�. But this will be a fresh start. A fresh, roomy, non-food covered start. It will be very nice.

And you can almost see our condo from my window.


Of course, a major concern is ferreting out all the local eateries. There�s plenty of barbeque nearby, and The Boss has found some local ethnic joints. When I left after the tour, I decided to hit the nearest Green Cactus Grill, to see how long a ride it would be to quickie Mexican. 3.5 miles, 12 minutes. SCORE!

I took this around the corner from there.

i love you

Just though it was cool.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
1 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com