but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

holiday spirit
Wednesday, Dec. 18, 2002

Now Playing - the 11:00 news
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Weird Searches du Jour:

~ vintage fiesta

~ naked housewife

~ g.d folks

~ laura petrie hair


Saw a fine example of holiday spirit this merry evening.

I was buying a present for The Huz in Macy*s, and got on a long line behind a taller gentleman in his late 40's-early 50's. Suddenly two late 30's-ish "Ladies Who Lunch" cut in front of the man, after having raced back to the line with whatever tchotchkes had caught their eyes. He called them on it. They almost tried to make it seem like they were with the women in front of them, and then tried to get them to attest to their having been right there in line. The man was having none of it - "I've been standing behind these people for at least 5 minutes." They slunk in behind me, one muttering "So much for the holiday spirit...." He ignored them.

The conversation that followed consisted of the More Mature one telling the Less Mature one how spoiled her child is: "Last Christmas, he opened his presents and said, 'Is that it?'" And Less Mature (the mutterer) talking about attending her daughter's holiday party: "All of Alex's friends came up to me and told me Alex says all I do is lie in bed all day! I could kill her!" She thought for a moment: "Well, that's all they see me do, but I'm very busy from 11 to 3!" More Mature: "Yeah, shopping, shopping, shopping!" Dissing "the geniuses" behind the cash register. Bemoaning the wait in line. And again, the lack of "holiday spirit" of the man in front of me. Well, of course. How dare he make these two obviously entitled "ladies" get the hell back to their rightful place in line, and not allow them to sweep grandly past the hoi polloi.

Jesus. Someone needs to get a life for Christmas, and for once it ain't me.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com