but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

nearer my cosmo to thee
Tuesday, Dec. 17, 2002

Now Playing - "Confession" by Richard Shindell. Also known to his 3 year old son (and others) as "Hey, Duck!"
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Weird Searches du Jour:

~ swollen glands diary

~ fag hags thoughts

Weird. Just plain weird, y'all.


Yesterday's little pity party (really, it is little) was my one hundreth entry. Hoo-hah.

A bunch of us are going to T.G.I.Friday's after work for holiday celebrations and libations, and a very cool former cow-orker has promised to help me drown my sorrows in Cosmopolitans.

The Huz took the "raise" news pretty well. He's far more pragmatic than I am. The situation can't be changed, so he thinks we'll just have to make the best of it. Which includes taking the retirement plan deductions, seeing as we have our future to think of. And he's grateful to finally have health insurance, and brought up the fact that my situation at this job is better overall than at my old one.

It's just frustrating to feel I've taken a step backward, that from a financial standpoint we're not in a better place than we were a year ago.

I think I'm going to write my boss a letter to state my point of view on the situation.

On to more pleasant subjects. After my friend Sheila's show Saturday night, I went out with the cast and some others, including Sheila's husband John and two musician friends of theirs, Martha Trachtenberg and her husband Tom Griffith. I'd seen them open for Lucy Kaplansky at The Brokerage, and while we were standing around in the theater lobby I kept stealing sideways glances at Martha, thinking, "Is that who I think it is?" Sheila confirmed that indeed it was, and I think Tom was surprised I remembered his name. We spent a lovely couple of hours talking about the music world and the theatre world (about which they know next-to-nothing, and found quite entertaining).

Cutting this short, because exams are starting and I have to get butt in gear.

Later!


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com