but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

sorry, wrong number
Tuesday, Aug. 30, 2005

Now Playing - hum of a/c.
Now Eating - nothing.
Now Feeling - like it's time to head home.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


I don�t think I mentioned this, but while Mom was still in the hospital, Dad almost had it out with her surgeon. Almost. The surgeon had been by to check on Mom, and it got back to him that Dad had called to complain about something at some point, and was very disappointed that he had not gotten a response. Doc took Dad out in the hall, and gave him the third degree, wanting to know when he�d called and who he�d spoken to, ostensibly figuring he�d have to give someone on his office staff a talking to. Doc claimed his staff was always good about taking messages, and contacting him after hours so he could get in touch with patients in need. After some grilling, the truth came out. Dad had called, all right, but he hadn�t left his name, number or a message. Apparently, if Doc wasn�t either Dad�s Psychic Friend or willing to drop his scalpel right in the middle of an incision, Dad was fully prepared to go for the gold in the Passive-Aggressive Olympics.

This has been playing out on a semi-regular basis. The day Mom was released, Dad called our house in the morning to see if Jim could come to the hospital, but didn�t leave a message. I was in the shower, and Huz was asleep. This, to Dad, translates as �They never pick up the phone!� I had no way of knowing he�d called � it�s not like I check the Caller ID after every shower. He did call my cell phone and leave two messages in the span of ten minutes, which I heard on my way to work. And called home to tell Huz about, asking him to give Dad a ring. But what a convoluted way to get your message across! What if I hadn�t had my cell? Then Dad would have sat and stewed, thinking his daughter doesn�t love him because she �never answers the phone.�

The latest bit was yesterday. He called me at work, asking if Huz would be in the neighborhood because he needed a prescription picked up. I told him I knew Huz would be out teaching, but didn�t know when/where. Gave him Huz�s cell number, and told him to call. He did, but DIDN�T LEAVE A MESSAGE! Huz finished a lesson, checked his phone in the car and saw a �missed call,� didn�t recognize the number because he doesn�t have my folks� new number programmed into his phone, figured it was a misdial and went on his merry way. If Dad had left a message, he�d have his prescription.


And now, a Levity Break
Only because I�m not madcap enough to be Carole Lombard�
Katharine Hepburn
You scored 23% grit, 33% wit, 42% flair, and 19% class!

You are the fabulously quirky and independent woman of character. You go your own way, follow your own drummer, take your own lead. You stand head and shoulders next to your partner, but you are perfectly willing and able to stand alone. Others might be more classically beautiful or conventionally woman-like, but you possess a more fundamental common sense and off-kilter charm, making interesting men fall at your feet. You can pick them up or leave them there as you see fit. You share the screen with the likes of Spencer Tracy and Cary Grant, thinking men who like strong women.

Find out what kind of classic leading man you'd make by taking the Classic Leading Man Test.

My test tracked 4 variables How you compared to other people your age and gender:

You scored higher than 40% on grit
You scored higher than 73% on wit
You scored higher than 73% on flair
You scored higher than 20% on class
Link: The Classic Dames Test written by gidgetgoes on Ok Cupid
Huz and I did half of the Tanger Outlet on Sunday, armed with coupons and a need for school clothes (well, for him, anyway). As in Maine, he walked away with more clothes than I did. Which is as it should be (just this once, anyway), since he did need them more. (I did score some underwear and workout clothes.)

Afterwards, we rambled into Riverhead in search of Spicy�s BBQ. I�d had takeout once at a cast party years ago, and was craving the full Spicy�s experience (R. and WoT, their sauce is much like Sal�s Birdland Sauce). Unfortunately, despite the posted closing time of 9 p.m., they were done for the day at a little after 8. I did snag some cornbread to keep me in breakfasts this week. We wound up here, which was pricier that I�d expected, but tasty and filling. And it supplied us with leftovers enough for dinner last night! Two! Two! Two meals in one! No, I didn�t have any bison. Not because one was STARING AT ME FROM THE WALL, but because the way it was prepared didn�t appeal to me. Seriously. I mean it. Hey, I�ve eaten �gator; a big ol� beefalo don�t scare me none.

I was flipping channels between Hedwig, Soldier�s Girl and Hilary and Jackie last night. A heaping helping of gender confusion, with a side order of sibling rivalry and semi-incestuous adultery, anyone? It�s not an iTunes segue, but it�ll do.


donate!


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
4 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com