but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

back to life, back to reality
Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2005

Now Playing - hum of a/c.
Now Eating - chocolate kisses.
Now Feeling - like my head's in a vise.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Good lord, where to start?

Mom is finally home. I went to hang with the gay boys on Fire Island the weekend of the 5th, and lasted a big 2 hours before Dad called to say that Mom would be taken back to the hospital the next day to have her incision reopened and would I come home? Huz got a call from Dad at 9:30 that night, after he�d just finished a gig here (wearing a white dinner jacket in the sweltering heat), and was summoned to shlep Dad to the Emergency Room where they sat (my aunt [who was in from Canada] having gone there earlier) until 1:30 in the morning. When Mom hadn�t been put in a room by then, she told them to just get the heck out, they were annoying her. I had left messages for Huz to call me, and he left me a voicemail at around 2 a.m. telling me to stay put, that there was really nothing I was needed for at home. Of course, I didn�t get this message until I was midway back to the mainland. I did, however, get a voicemail from T-Mobile at 7 a.m. telling me they were upgrading my voicemail system. That made it through. The actual important voicemail? Did not. Go figure.

Anyway, called Dad when the ferry docked only to find out that Mom was already in recovery, soon to be moved to her room. Made it to the hospital in about 40 minutes. Don�t ask how fast I drove. Not that it was urgent; I just wanted to keep moving, I suppose, in the vain hope that if things moved along fast enough, I might actually get back to Cherry Grove. But no, �twas not to be. 18 hours of semi-restfulness was all I managed.

[Huz and I caught a rerun of the Summer of George Seinfeld, and now we�ve turned it into our own catchphrase/mantra. This has so not been The Summer of Us.]

So yeah, Mom had more surgery, they cultured whatever bugs were in her (the rehab facility [which I began to think of more and more as G-d�s Waiting Room the more I visited] fixed her up riiiight nice what with the mystery rash, the oozing wound, A COLD SORE and an upper respiratory infection!) and gave her the appropriate drugs, stapled her up, let her sit for ten days and finally sent her home. Both parents now seem to be even less enthused about the �Let�s Get You The Hell Outta The House� plan. But as my brother said after I emailed him about it, �Oh, no. NO. They are getting out of there. I�m thinkin� it goes on the market in March.� Glad to know he�s still with the program. And there may be a chance that he may relocate back to the Isle of Lawn Guys(shhh...that's on the QT), so that could hold more sway with the folks if they take into account a potential move to someplace closer to wherever he may wind up.

Pretend that was English, m�kay?

What else, what else? Got a haircut which morphed into a symbol of All That Was Wrong In My Life. I even went back to my stylist to have her hack some more layers into my left side (convinced as I am that I have more hair on that side of my head). A week later and it was back to normal, other than being too short to put up without all these droopy not-even-close-to-pre-Raphaelite tendrils hanging down and getting in my way!

�Member my dismay at missing Quackerjack Bobblehead Night a ways back? Well. Huz and I scored another pair of The Boss� tickets, and we also scored these:


Sing it with me now�� Duck�and plunger! Duck�and plunger!

Yes, I now have a Quackerjack for my desk, albeit one with a big �CityWide Sewer and Drain� sign affixed to his pedestal. And a handy little plunger suitable for�er, plunging.

The Fabulous and I saw Who�s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? last week. Excellent. Even with the understudy having recently taken over the role of Nick. And kudos to Fabulous for not smacking me silly after I turned to her and whispered �Gawd, I love Bill Irwin!� for the hundredth time.

Oh, and that Kathleen Turner broad wasn�t so bad either.

Orientation was hectic, classes are in full swing, and the new students aren�t too annoying (Though their spelling? �Parants?� �Nabors?� GAH!). Huz and I have a trip to Florida planned for October, to take maximum advantage of all those Jewish holidays off. We�ll be gone a week, which I think is the longest we�ve been down there since our honeymoon. Though there may be no massages at the spa, he�s promised me at least one day poolside and perhaps even beachside. Which will be more than we managed all summer.

So I�m back, y�all. And hopefully entries will pour forth from my addled brain on a more regular basis.

Missed you! Kiss-kiss!


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
5 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com