but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

wade in the water
Friday, Sept. 02, 2005

Now Playing - Bill Mahrer.
Now Eating - le Healthy Choice, c'est fini.
Now Feeling - tired.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


PMSy. Eating everything in sight. Poofy. All I wanna do is sleep.

Dragged my ass to the gym tonight, you betcha.

Now consuming a Healthy Choice dinner. I hate when parts of my frozen dinner intermingle. My broccoli has streusel topping.

I have a snazzy Dell flatscreen monitor at work. The monitor has two USB ports. New IT Guy enabled the ports, and now I can plug my label printer directly into the side of the monitor, and no longer have to deal with its cord snaking across my desk. It�s the little things.

New IT Guy happens to rock. He knows more than all our previous IT guys put together, and actually responds (in a more than timely fashion) to requests for help. He�s a bit of a Chatty Cathy at times, but other than that, major rockage. Best new hire we�ve had in a long time.

One of my boss�s �extracurricular� clients is bringing me a case of Dixie Blackened Voodoo Lager as payback for all the �extracurricular� stuff I do for him. How guilty will I feel drinkin� Nawlins beer for free? Still, it�s damn good beer. I did read a memo from our Big Dean stating that Tulane and Loyola-NO students will be allowed visiting student status at our school tuition-free if need be in the coming year. One student who has family in the area has taken us up on the offer already. So The Little Law School That Almost Could is Doing the Right Thing.

You should do it, too. I did, and I�m po�. Donate. Give something, anything you can.

donate!

I don�t get all that political all that often, mainly because I don�t believe I�m informed enough to pontificate on things political. But the snippets I�ve seen on the news of the president�s LA flyover and visit ticked me off. Viewing the damage from your cushy leather couch aboard Air Force One after cutting short your working vacation (by two days) isn�t enough. Puddle jumping in a �copter isn�t enough. These people need more than a pat on the back from a politico. Ladle out some food. Pull someone off a roof. Get out there in an airboat. Roll up your gawddamn shirtsleeves and wade in the water and help.

End of mini-rant. Have some semblance of a good weekend.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
1 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com