but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

kid stuff
Friday, Mar. 05, 2004

Now Playing - nothing.
Now Eating - pommes frites.
Now Feeling - full.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


The Friday Five! On a Friday!!!

What was...

1. ...your first grade teacher's name? First grade while in Brooklyn was Mrs. Schneier. When we moved to Lawn Guyland halfway through the year, it was Miss Wolbeck, who shortly thereafter became Mrs. Micharlsen.
2. ...your favorite Saturday morning cartoon? Probably Scooby Doo (pre-Scrappy). If you count live action, then we have to throw in any of the Sid & Marty Krofft stuff. To be a kid during the seminal years of Saturday morning programming was a beautiful thing indeed.
3. ...the name of your very first best friend? A girl named Angela on my block, who moved before we left Brooklyn. She was beautiful. I missed her so much that I used to pretend she lived under my bed, and I�d talk to her at night. I was a weird child.
4. ...your favorite breakfast cereal? A is for Apple Jacks. That was the sugariest cereal Mom would buy for us. Now I�m always after me Lucky Charms. �Cept I don�t know how they got all those marshmallows�I topped out after �and New Blue Diamonds!�
5. ...your favorite thing to do after school? Umm�I don�t know. Read? Play with Barbies? I didn�t have the equivalent of �play dates� as a kid. I had friends, but since they didn�t live within walking distance (like my mother would have let me walk anyway) we didn�t socialize that much out of school. Which eventually led to my parents putting me in therapy because I �had no friends,� but we�ll leave that one alone.


Speaking of hearkening back to childhood, my parents have CHANGED OUR PHONE NUMBER! They�ve signed up for 0ptimum 0nline phone service to (theoretically) save a few bucks (go folks!), and they have to change their number. The number we�ve had since 1975. In these halcyon days of cell number portability, I can�t understand having to do this for a land line. Mom said when I called her after reading the shocking email, �Well, at least I got a phone call out of you!� Ain�t gonna be happening very often if I have to memorize a whole new number! The price you pay for destroying a vestige of my childhood.

That said, Mom informed me that Dad has made some progress in the �Let�s Get All This Shit Out Of The House Before We Die (And The Kids Get Stuck With It)� campaign.

He threw out part of my crib.


Huz and I caught the tail end of a short film on cable last night. It�s called The Perfect Gooseys, and there�s an interview with the director and producer here.

**SPOILER ALERT**

The director sums up the plot far better than I could, but it�s basically about the janitor�s misfit son at this very exclusive and contemptibly snobby private school. The kids are all picked up in these fancy cars with huge sandwich board things on the tops, advertising �My child was nominated for a Pulitzer� �My child does my taxes� �My child cracked the DNA code.� Ludicrous, but yet more-than-a-little grounded in reality. Goosey Junior is miserable, excels at nothing and is the only one left who has not earned the prestigious red prep school sweater. His parents know he�s miserable, and think he�ll blame them for putting him through it, when the audience knows that they just want the best for him. So they make a sign for him, to put on top of their beaten up station wagon. And this sign is huge, and runs the length of the car. So the kids are all being picked up, and teasing and taunting him to �Honk the horn, Goosey!� which is part of the daily ritual of torment. And Dad drives up, the car overheating and belching smoke under the weight of the sign. The kids fall silent, and Goosey Jr. stands on the steps looking at his father and the sign, which reads in shaky spray paint, �MY CHILD GIVES GOOD HUGGS�(sic). And he runs into his father�s embrace.

Well I cried.

What�s the saying?

A hundred years from now, it will not matter
what kind of car I drove, how much money I made,
or where I lived.
What will be important is that I
made a difference in the life of a child.

Because that�s what it�s really about.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
3 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com