but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

status report
Thursday, Jul. 08, 2004

Now Playing - a rerun of "Without a Trace."
Now Eating - nothing.
Now Feeling - tired.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


I am�

~ waiting until after the election to roll over my mutual funds from the old job because things have gotten slightly better and they can�t get much worse (to bastardize The Beatles) can they now, folks?

~ putting some Black Crowes on my wish list, because I�m funny that way.

~ headachy, at present.

~ pissed at cow-orkers who demand that I �Smile, Mel!� when I�ve been staring intently at my screen for three hours, engrossed in a handy-dandy little project that my boss will dispose of in less than five minutes and take credit for. If you can demand that I smile, can I likewise demand that you �Die, Monster, Die!?� Thought not.

~ still pissed at the cow-orker who, in less than five minutes in my office, managed to trash my musical taste, my housekeeping skills and my ability to do my job. How many years until you retire, you old bat?

~ rebounding off of last night�s yummy belated birthday meal for The Huz at this place. Treadmill, here I come.

~ seriously needing a haircut. In addition, I could easily live with a hot oil treatment, facial peel, manicure and pedicure, and a massage. A girl can dream.

~ sleeping a bit better than I have been.

~ the only Google result for �discolored guacamole.� My parents must be so proud.

~ sending a shout out to whoever�s reading in Rock Island. Hiya! Been to Ribco lately? They still do the Import Passport? I never got to finish mine....

~ going a bit crazy with the linkage. All apologies.

~ the proud owner of a mini stuffed Quackerjack

...and my very own quacker!

Seriously folks, this is quality goods. It requires some serious diaphragmatic support to get this thing to work. Don�t try this at home. (And it comes with an official Long Island Ducks lanyard (read: a shoelace with Long Island Ducks printed on only one side of it)).


We went to the game on Tuesday, as the result of a last-minute cancellation by my boss. Quackerjack, while no Mr. Met (but then again, who is?), is quite the entertaining mascot. It was our first Ducks game, and it was interesting to be in such a tiny park, with all these local vendors billboarding the outfield. And local guyyys such as �Dominick from Patchogue� involved in the between-innings contests, which were held between every frickin� inning. Quackerjack and his emcee certainly earn their keep. We were right on the third base line, and I feared for my life several times. And there was beer and hotdogs and popcorn, and the Ducks won, and there was much rejoicing in Central Islip.

The Fourth on The Sound was fun, as it usually is, if a bit more subdued than usual. It was the Year of the Dogs, as they outnumbered the children at one point. Huz�s softball team lost by one run, but he hit 3-for-5. The fireworks on the beach were outstanding this year, and a new element was added: titles, dramatically announced by my friend Brent, Official Firework Color Commentator and Campfire Songleader!

Lameass pictures I took on the dark with my digital camera (I really have to read the manual more thoroughly, at least before Falcon Ridge)

The bonfires east of us, which were masterfully constructed, but lit way too early.

Our bonfire. {Eddie Murphy}Now that�s a fire!{/Eddie Murphy}

One lameass firework picture. This was called �Fountains of� Somethingorother.

I tried to give blood on Saturday, as a civic duty for the holiday weekend, but wouldn�tcha know, my hemoglobin was under by .1. Point one!!! Note to self: Eat more beef.

Saturday, Leslie's having a barbeque to introduce her future daughter-in-law to the friends and family, and Sunday I have a vocal seminar I intend to go to (even though I�ve not yet registered) that starts insanely early in the morning.

More, as they say, as it comes.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
2 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com