but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

and frightened melwadel away - not.
Friday, Jul. 16, 2004

Now Playing - "Beautful Racket" - Mary Chapin Carpenter.
Now Eating - nothing.
Now Feeling - achy.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


I was closing the windows last night before bed, when I noticed a delicate web spun across the length and breadth of one window. At the center of the web was a spider, natch. One about the size of my thumb. Huz tried to allay my apprehension by explaining that he sees this frequently � a spider will �camp out� in a window overnight, and be gone by morning. One spider, okay.

But two??

Because that�s what I saw when I went to close the other window. Thumb-sized Spider, Redux. That�s not �camping out for the night,� people. That�s a Giant Spider Invasion! That�s creeping-in-through-the-uncaulked-window-frames-to-eat-or-be-eaten-in-my-sleep!

Believe it or not, I�m really not all that frightened by the little eight-legged freaks. For years, I was the de facto bug killer in my family, as my brother was absolutely terrified of �em. I saw (the best minds of my generation�no wait) a centipede the length of my hand make its way around � of my college apartment�s kitchen ceiling during a phone call to my dad, only to be thwarted by me, a colander, a paper plate, and, eventually, a toilet bowl. My attitude toward arachnids and other leggy creatures (you can throw supermodels in there, too) is this: I spend as little time as necessary in your environment, stay the hell out of mine. Or I reserve the right to personally remove you. Make of that what you will.

(Okay, so maybe they weren�t as big as her spider, but still�.)

That said, where will I be spending next Thursday through Sunday? Sitting in a field here. Fauna bedamned. Pass the Skin-So-Soft. With a side of Raid.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
1 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com