but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

pseudoephedrine-induced ravings of a cold-addled mind
Sunday, Oct. 30, 2005

Now Playing - HGTV.
Now Eating - drinking, Swiss Miss Marshmallow Lovers.
Now Feeling - headachy.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Y�know what would have made my Friday? My muzzy-headed, snuffling, cripes-I�d-rather-be-sleeping Friday? If my boss brought in some Breakfast Souffl�s. But he couldn�t do that. Why? Because he was in Albany, NY. He should not have been in Albany! He should have been bringing poor (literally), sick (ditto) little me a tidy, little package of sodium-, fat- and cholesterol-laden high-calorie happiness!

Life is NOT FAIR.

I take solace in the knowledge that I probably infected anyone who came near me. Just call me Typhoid Melanie.

And...AND there was brilliant sunlight at 8:15 in the morning. Which means that tomorrow morning, there will be brilliant sunlight AN HOUR EARLIER. I do not want to wake up to brilliant sunlight! I want to be dragged kicking and screaming into a day as gloomy as my mood.

Okay. End of rant.

(And let�s think lovely, wonderful thoughts of Tuesday Morning Breakfast Souffl�s.)



Umm, folks at Amazon.com? I propose an additional Gold Box option, in addition to �Save this offer & show the next one� and �Pass this offer & show the next one�: �Never show me this offer or any other remotely like it ever again, because I have no intention of EVER buying a Swiss Army knife or golf club covers shaped like the ass of a cow!�

Ahem. Moving on....

I�ve been cooking up a storm this week: chili, tomato sauce, pasta with spinach and chickpeas and goat cheese...and I�ve realized that several of my �old standby� recipes come from odd sources. The tomato sauce is from a Consumer Reports article, my vodka sauce is courtesy of the wife of the former Chief of Detectives of New York City, my default wintertime party hors d�oeuvre is the crabmeat dip made by my lapsed Mormon ex-lover�s mom....

The Cold seemed to have reached a turning point yesterday (after liberal application of steam from my teeny vaporizer), so hopefully it�ll be outta here by The Big Official Anniversary on Tuesday. (Of course, today I�ve been tormented by the Angry Left Maxillary Sinus of Doom, but let�s think positive, shall we?) The Big Official Anniversary (as opposed to the faux-niversary of two weeks ago) shall be spent quietly at home, as we are po�. I�ll cook dinner (AGAIN!) and we will partake of some very fancy champagne. I declared a moratorium on gifts, which Huz may break with the purchase of some Godiva as he�s been looking forward to it. Champagne and chocolate. Mmm.

Time to rest my weary head. G�night.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
2 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com