but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

raining, pouring, you name it
Saturday, Jan. 28, 2006

Now Playing - HGTV.
Now Eating - Lean Cuisine.
Now Feeling - crappy.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


In addition to Huz�s old bass drum pedal making a lovely wall hanging...

would his floor tom not make a FABULOUS end table?

�Course it would!

(Somebody pimp me to HGTV, and quick!)



And now The Latest Report from Familyland

The good news (what I understand of it, anyway) is, Encore may be in the process of affiliating with a hospice/long term care company. Somehow the result will drastically reduce our monthly payments for my mother-in-law�s care. When Huz started bandying about phrases like �getting rid of our debt� and �at some point we�ll both need new cars� and �looking for a better place to live,� my eyes widened. However, I remain guardedly realistic. Show me the money (back in our checking account, that is) and then I�ll get excited.

The bad news is that my MIL is not doing so well. Looking back, it appears that I never wrote about this, but there�d been an �incident� with a married male patient in the past. Treating each other as boyfriend and girlfriend, being discovered in each others� beds, etc. Totally unlike my good Catholic ��til death did they part� mother-in-law. Lowered inhibitions are a side affect of the Alzheimer�s. We did see the humor in it (because how could you not?), and the problem was solved by moving her paramour to a different cottage. But it seems she�s found another married (why do they all have to be married?!) man. And she was moved to the cottage one level lower than hers. Which hasn�t been working out. She�s wandered back in, and was found in an unoccupied bed asking �where the man is?� Told the staff they�d have to drag her out of there. They let her stay, but now the plan is to move her to Cottage 2, home of the second-lowest functioning patients, and physically segregated from the three higher cottages. We�re hoping she�ll adjust without too much trouble. If the problem persists, their next resort is to medicate her, which the Executive Director isn�t keen on, thankfully. He also may be required by law to report her as something akin to a sexual predator, which NONE of us want, natch.

In other bad news, my mother�s spine is destabilizing, and her surgeon wants her to have it fused. She doesn�t want to go through surgery again (understandable, given all the fun she had the first time), so she�s been fitted for a back brace. I don�t know what to say to her. Ultimately it�s her life, her health, her choice. I would consider it, but I�m younger, healthier and 18 years removed from my last surgery.



And the hits just keep on comin�.

Joy�s mom�s memorial service was Wednesday. I can think of few things more depressing than sobbing with your friend as she tells you how she wasn�t ready for this, that it was all too sudden, and that she just plain wants her Mommy. Well, here�s one thing that tops it: to find out three days later that you�re gonna be doing it again. Because I just heard that The Fabulous�s dad died yesterday. Dammit.

This year was supposed to be better than last year. I�m still waiting.


Now I�ll try and leave y�all with SOMETHING relatively amusing. Thanks to the lovely and talented Jessamyn, I was clued in to the existence of Vimeo, and have uploaded the video portion of our Thanksgiving festivities.


I'm forever blowing bottles.... on Vimeo

Enjoy.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
3 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com