but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

and the other team won by a nose
Monday, Nov. 28, 2005

Now Playing - the pounding in my head.
Now Eating - pommes frites.
Now Feeling - did I mention the pounding in my head?
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Thanks to an overenthusiastic professor (next time go back to your own damn office and use your own damn stapler!), my Quackerjack Bobblehead has lost his right arm.

Before

Well, he's in the box, but you get the picture.

After

He�s the Pete Gray of mascots!!!


Thanksgiving was fine. There was a ton of food. Mom made stuffing (since �everyone loves it�) and heated up some mashed sweet potatoes in addition to the ones from the catering place. The broccoli and glazed carrots were al dente to the extreme, but the turkey and mashed potatoes were good. Six million leftover rolls. My sister-in-law did her share of cleaning up, and I only lost it once, when I could not get something out of a low cabinet because of the myriad food bowls, water bowls and cat feeding contraptions blocking the way.

We then headed south, to where Bill and HB were house-sitting for friends of ours. After dessert (a delicious Toffee Crunch confection made by HB), we settled in for one of our cutthroat games of Trivial Pursuit. Bill and I won, but it was neck and neck �til the end. And there were moments of Pure Comedy Gold.

My husband gave my team this clue: �This Oscar-winning film�s ad campaign featured a woman�s navel and a red nose.� Bill and I were stymied. So was HB. We spent several minutes mulling it over. I had no clue, and Huz was inwardly astonished, thinking to himself, �She�s gonna kill herself when she hear the answer.� The closest I could come to anything featuring a red nose was Death to Smoochy!�

Then it hit me.

�READ IT AGAIN!�

�This Oscar-winning film�s ad campaign featured a woman�s navel and a red rose.�

�YOU SAID NOSE!�

�No, I didn�t.�

Bill: �I heard nose.
HB: �So did I.�

Of course, the answer was this, which he�d taken me to see on my birthday that year. And for the rest of the evening, HB and I would burst into hysterics at random intervals at the thought of �A red NOSE???�

There also now exists video of my husband playing the three-note NBC jingle on bottles of Dixie Blackened Voodoo, but due to technical difficulties I am unable to share that with you. Trust me, though. Pure Comedy Gold.

Edited 1/27/06 to add video!


thanks to jessamyn for turning me on to this!


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
3 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com