but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

post toasty
Friday, Sept. 24, 2004

Now Playing - nothing I recognize.
Now Eating - BK Fish Filet. Be quiet, Phyllis! I'm PMSing!
Now Feeling - Like I need a vacation. Soon enough!
Now Tweeting - Melanie


L�shanah tovah, everyone. It�s been a long couple of weeks.

I could really get used to this �not working� thing. Had 2� days off last week for the holidays. They were spent in lessons and laundering and errands and family stuff, as my brother and SIL were in from PA, and my auntie was in from Toronto. My father�s sister, as opposed to my mother�s. I realized I�ve been lucky in that I have pretty cool aunts. I don�t know how they�d be as mothers, but they make damn good aunts. (Even when one of them does something goofy like this.) My aunt, who has dual citizenship (as does her only daughter), has applied for an absentee ballot to vote in this year�s election. She doesn�t reside here, is only able to make it in to visit a couple of times a year, but cares enough about the state of this country that she�s bothering to vote.

And what�s your excuse?

The errands? We needed a new toaster oven and living room floor lamp. Ours was Huz�s from College Version 2.0. Technically, although I�m five years younger than he is, I graduated a year earlier � he took 6 years off before finishing his senior year. So the toaster was 13 years old, and had developed this annoying habit of not fully shutting off, to the extent that this one little annoying light was almost always on. And occasionally buzzing. It wasn�t a fire hazard (yet, anyway), but the thing needed to be taken out into the yard and put down. So we headed to Bed, Bath and Beyond (insert superhero takeoff noise) and got this cute little brushed chrome thingey that kicks toasting butt. Seriously, you don�t realize how piss-poor your ancient toaster�s doing until you get a spiffy shiny happy new one.

I am so easily pleased.

(The only thing that would please me more is if we�d have gotten the Toasty. The one my other cool aunt had. The former fire hazard/perfect college tchotchke. I�m a sucker for cute appliances.)

And the new floor lamp�s a thrill, too. We can thank Tar-zhay for that one. It�s tall, and brushed steel (anyone sensing an �I only like light wood [linking to a link � very nice, Mel.] and silver metal� decorating motif here would be spot on), and has a little, adjustable reading lamp halfway down its uhh, stalk? Stem? Whatever. All I know is that I�ll be able to read on the couch without my eyes wanting to leap out of my skull.


In the past few years, my dreams have taken on a recurring theme: performance anxiety. I had one a couple of mornings ago. They�re all generally of the same ilk. It�s never a matter of the actor�s nightmare of forgetting lines or being in the wrong play. It�s more the difficulty of actually getting onstage.

Let�s face it�I am punctuality-challenged. I�m fashionably late for life (though I was not late for my own wedding, which was a prediction that had been cast my way for many years). I credit it to rebellion against my mother�s compulsive earliness. This is a woman who likes to get to the airport at least three hours before a flight, which would actually pay off in this age of baggage searches if she actually planned to fly anywhere in the near future.

The only place I hate to arrive late is to the theater. Rehearsals, performances, attending a show, whatever. My dreams always center on arriving late and not having enough time to get ready. This one involved not being able to get backstage to change costumes. And being conscious of that fact while onstage, so that I kept looking off in a near-panic trying to figure out what to do. Once I finally got off, I exited stage left only to find myself in part of a fancy lobby with an ornate curving staircase. I rushed up the stairs, ostensibly heading toward my dressing room, only to find that the staircase ended at the ceiling. A staircase to nowhere. No symbolism there or anything.


Bad Advertising Alert:

Is it just me, or does the name of this company seem to suggest that they make dietary supplements that would enhance one�s cellular phone reception? Why bother with the proverbial tinfoil hat, when you can take vitamins that�ll have the Illuminati send their messages right to your brain? Cool!

And whose brilliant idea was it to name a weight loss drug THIS???? The mind boggles.


In honor of my other favorite Canadian:

Because I feel like cluttering up my page with cute rubber duckies and wacky dancing chickens, I am pleased to inform y�all that as of Sept. 19, I have travelled 206.95 miles to nowhere.

Ten percent there rubber duck. Ten percent there rubber duck. 25 percent there Ten percent there rubber duck. Ten percent there rubber duck.

Marn, the lovely hostess of the above linked page, is up to her old tricks again, and will participating in her second Jog for the Jugs next month. I�ve contributed again (I suppose it�s in honor of my two healthy "girls") and can once again sport the shoddily Photoshopped yet justly coveted red rectangle below.

I’m a Bazonga Booster...you could be, too!

And go give Marn some love, since she just endured some major cutaneous assault and battery in the removal of a skin cancer. And if you have a free moment, go do a skin exam on the one you love. Could be fun!

Have a great weekend, and an easy fast if you�re doing so.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
2 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com