but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

can't even dignify this with a title
Friday, Mar. 13, 2009

Now Playing - Bill Maher.
Now Eating - nothing.
Now Feeling - sneezy.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Yeesh. 44 days. I've been...busy? Rehearsing for my show, dancing my ass off (oh, if I were only speaking literally), enjoying our really great cast and having a fine time. And we don't open for a week!

So here I am for a bit, after having been goaded into writing by him. I just haven't had anything to say that couldn't be summed up in 140 characters. But here goes. Not much.


The Daily Little Law School Stupid

Professor comes in, talks with my boss for a sec. They both come out to my desk. Boss hands me an express mail label and another envelope. Professor tells me his secretary is upstairs typing a letter, two copies of which need to be sent out today by regular and express mail. He then goes up to the Faculty Services office to retrieve said letter. So somehow this Awesome Postal Responsibility falls to me, even though the faculty secretaries are handling the mailroom this week. And seeing as there are four of them, there's a 25% chance his secretary will be processing the mail.

I suppose I should be...what? honored? Instead I'm just confused.


Last weekend, Huz and I went out to dinner with my parents and aunt, to celebrate three birthdays: mine (Feb.23), Mom's (March 2) and my aunt's (March 11). Dinner was lovely, it was great to see my aunt not near death, and we had a good time.

But Dad drops a little bombshell on the way to the car: my aunt thinks she's possessed. And that was ALL we get to hear about it, until after dinner when I'm fixing Mom's computer and she tells me that Auntie's been talking to herself and claiming to be possessed by Jesus (my aunt converted to Catholicism a couple of years ago) and at least two other not-so-nice guys. And even Jesus isn't exactly behaving himself. Apparently he's been asking her to do...umm...dirty things.

You can bet I nipped that conversational trailer in the bud.

My first thought was "brain tumor," but she recently had a full-body CAT scan that came up clear. My next was "mental Illness," given that she's been misdiagnosed as having both Alzheimer's and depression over the past couple of years. My mom's cousin, from the Italian Catholic branch of the family, thinks it's religious mania. "That's what happens when anyone gets too gung-ho."

In retrospect, it should have been obvious. She did have Shrimp Fra Diavolo for dinner.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com