but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

WE ARE OUT OF SWEET ROLLS!
Tuesday, Jan. 27, 2009

Now Playing - "Dig A Pony" - Beatles.
Now Eating - drinking, water.
Now Feeling - allergic.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


So a student comes in yesterday. Her locker (let's call it # 181) is "broken." She asks if she can use the locker right next to it, but it's been assigned. I give her the next available locker number in the section (#251), and tell her to go check it. She calls from the locker room and tells my co-worker that it's also "broken." Can she use #245? No, she can only use the next number in the sequence, they're all assigned (they've been assigned since SEPTEMBER.) Try 253. "Broken." 255? "Broken." Co-worker tells her to find a locker that does work and let us know.

She emails me later that evening:

Is it okay to use locker 237?
I look forward to hearing from you and appreciate your help!
Thanks so much!

+5 points for politeness, -250 for reading comprehension.

This comes to mind.



I've joined Plinky, because I can always use ideas for something to post. Here's the first writing prompt:







I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For
by
U2



Specifically the version off Rattle & Hum with the gospel choir. Why? BECAUSE of the gospel choir, silly.





Difference
by
The Wallflowers



Because the chorus opens up with this driving, descending bass line that just screams "convertible on the open road."





Freedom Park
by
Marah



Because the "shimmy-shimmy ko-ko bop" background vocals are infectious.








Edited to add: Well THAT formatting sucks! Sorry y'all.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com