but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

killin' cousins
Thursday, May. 08, 2008

Now Playing - Without a Trace.
Now Eating - drinking, water.
Now Feeling - exhausted.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


I have been in Florida since yesterday morning, accompanying my mother to see her only sister, who had surgery for lung cancer last Friday and was not doing well. Except she is doing much better, and I am really pissed off at my cousin, her younger daughter.

Yes, I realize that she is very stressed out at having to be the only immediate family member down here. That she has put her job on hold and her husband and child on hold to be here. That my uncle is a supreme asshole for not being by his wife's side, no matter what their relationship may be at the moment. And yes, I realize that my mother is not necessarily the best person to have around in time of crisis. And yes, much as I can say things to my parents at which other people might look askance, my mother unfortunately thinks she can speak to my cousin the way she speaks to me.

But to say things like "Well, if you don't like it, maybe you should go home"??? And to do things like agree to a visit from an exterminator at 8:30 tomorrow morning, because "Melanie will be here," (because it's okay for me to be here alone to let a complete stranger [bearing noxious chemicals] into my aunt's house) instead of saying "My mother is unavailable and we do not wish to schedule an appointment at this time"? (She only cancelled when she found out payment would be due, and that my aunt then usually took the guy to her cousin's house for an appointment as well.)

My mother dropped a grand that she can ill afford on plane tickets. I took time off from work to take a handicapped woman to see her sister whom we were told was on LIFE SUPPORT. Cuz couldn't pick us up from the gawddamn airport because she a) couldn't leave my aunt's side (though by yesterday she was conscious and responsive) and b) she doesn't feel comfortable driving anywhere other than back and forth to the hospital. (The airport is a straight shot down I-95.) We are completely at her mercy because we were stupid and didn't rent a car. She shlepped us around an indoor flea market today, and then didn't have the brains to drop my mother off in front of the hospital, making her shlep even more from the far reaches of the parking lot. We're also being left to our own devices to get ourselves to the airport at the crack of ASS Saturday morning. Which CANNOT COME SOON ENOUGH.

I came down here wanting to kill my cousins for how they have treated my aunt. Of course, the person I really wanted to kill was their sociopath of a father, but since he wasn't going to be handy, I'd have settled for one of his kids. But I told myself that my aunt didn't need that bad energy surrounding her at this time, and chose to say nothing. And I will continue to say nothing. Because I love my aunt. The rest of them can gey in der erd, as they say in Yiddish .

I apologize for the incoherence, but this being one of the places where I can "say something," I just had to let fly.

9:35 Saturday morning? Please, please hurry.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com