but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

no one cares what i had for my anniversary dinner
Saturday, Nov. 03, 2007

Now Playing - myself, yawning.
Now Eating - nothing.
Now Feeling - sleepy.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


...but I'm going to tell you anyway. First off, as I mentioned, we went to Prime, where I'd gone some months ago for a belated co-birthday dinner. It wasn't quite as good as the first time, but there was a large party going on in the private room next to us, so the staff was being run slightly ragged. No amuse bouche, no daily specials. I had my first glass of prosecco, the majority of Huz's pineapple mojito (he is now firmly in the non-mojito camp; even the addition of pineapple could not sway him) and a nice glass of muscat with dessert. My appetizer was rock shrimp tempura with a (not very) spicy curry sauce, and Huz had the Prime salad, which he said was a little too dressed for him. But he did enjoy his warm goat cheese and bacon. He had a 12 oz. filet and I had their "thermidor," which consisted of "petit filet, maine lobster, wild mushroom fricassee, tarragon, potatoes 'gallette'." Delicious, but there was a tough bit in his filet and some shell in my lobster. My side of rosemary polenta, however? Yum. And yum again for breakfast the next day. We had a mix of sorbets and ice creams for dessert, the standout of which for me was an apple cider sorbet. Wow. The coconut sorbet interesting too - creamy and gelato-like, and tasting more of coconut milk than coconut. And of course the company was lovely.

We'll next try a return trip to Tellers, courtesy of a gift certificate that came as a "Welcome to your new condo!" gift. We'd had a meh experience there once, but I'd been back since for an office lunch, and was pleased enough. And the new GM is an acquaintance of ours, a fellow renown for his restaurant expertise.

Food, food, food - everything is food.


We have the remnants of Hurricane Noel to thank for this evening's lovely sunset.

Post-storm sunset


Our first Fred & Adele in what feels like aaaaages is tomorrow afternoon. My hair is so long I don't know how I'm going to curl it. I have no false eyelashes. I have no gas in the car (I didn't want to make you drive again, sweetie.) I have practiced my piano, however, and now I'm off to look over the script.

Don't forget to turn back your clocks!


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com