but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

your little law school dollars at work!
Tuesday, May. 08, 2007

Now Playing - the sound of students typing.
Now Eating - nothing.
Now Feeling - achy.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


I drove by the Barbie Dream Condo last week, and they were putting up our balcony! The windows were open, so I assume work was being done inside too.

The mortgage process seems to be going swimmingly as well. ::spits over shoulder, knocks wood:: Our credit scores rock, and our assets look good on paper, so our mortgage guy's already told us we don't require a verification of residence. Not that that would have been a problem, as we've lived here for five years and the management company is a real estate monolith in this neck of the woods. Now as long as we can scare up an employment verification for Huz, we should be okay. Entreaties to the real estate and finance gods are always appreciated, though.


The Fabulous, The Singing Dentist and I went to Prime weekend before last for a Belated Birthday F�te (quite belated, as we are all Pisceans and the sun, she is-a now in Taurus). What a wonderful evening, made even more so by the company of two really good friends. A perfect mojito. An amuse bouche of a cube of watermelon topped with a dollop of herbed goat cheese and drizzled with balsamic. An appetizer which I can only describe as a scallop ravioli - alternating slices of scallop and avocado, wrapped in nori (maybe?) and puff pastry and lightly fried, served with some flavorful creamy something (my ears had thoroughly...umm...glazed over once the waiter used "scallops" and "avocado" in the same sentence) and an avocado relish. A really nice shiraz. BEEF! And moscato d'asti and Bananas Foster crepes for dessert. The crepes were tasted on spec for my husband's benefit. No, really. I'm not big on bananas (You be quiet. You too.), so the ingestion was research, plain and simple.

Research tasted delicious, by the way.

Then last weekend I got to see a really good friend open in a show and do a really good job, and was reminded again just how damn talented and versatile he is. And then we got to be dirty stay-outs and talk about anything and everything until 2 in the morning. Which did not stand me in terribly good stead when I had to be up early the next day to trek to a cousin's first birthday party in Staten Island. Beautiful day, horrible traffic. We spent more time on the road than at the actual party. Adorable child, mediocre food.

And now we're into exams, and New Dean (who hereafter shall be known as Teeny Dean) is being a control freak. But nothing is my responsibility this time 'round, so unless I really manage to screw up, none of the BLAME will be mine, either. I'm typing this while proctoring an exam, on a laptop blessedly lent to me by one of the IT guys. Always good to be on the good side of IT! So before Teeny Dean rears her megalomaniacal head, must dash!


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
1 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com