but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

and said, "what a good girl am i."
Friday, Sept. 12, 2003

Now Playing - Closer Than Ever - research.
Now Eating - corn. Clarence Birdseye is my friend
Now Feeling - weekend-y.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


How good am I? Well, after a truncated lunch at a Chinese place, I boogied on over to Wize Eyes to see if I could get new contact lenses. I was only expecting to make an appointment at best, but they took me right away and I am now wearing clean lenses. Remains to be seen if the prescription/fit is correct, but they're clean, and that's a damn sight (oh, geeze...no pun intended I swear) better than the old pair.

I say a truncated lunch because, after barely an hour of dining at a time not even close to the lunch rush or the dinner rush, we had wait staff ambling by, rolling their eyes and slamming the check back down on the table when they saw we had not yet settled up. I'm sorry, is there some pre-Happy Hour Dance Party that you close the joint for that we're interrupting? Cross that place off the list.

Got a nice little surprise today. I'd gotten this letter from the pension department of the place where I used to work. This letter kicked around for over a year, what with death and moving and my mother-in-law's illness/surgery. The letter said that since I was a "separated employee" (Cue Groucho: "Why? Are you coming apart?"), and my accrued benefits were less than $5000, I could get them in a lump sum and deposit it into an IRA. The letter said my lump sum was a hair over $1500. I finally sent in the paperwork, and got a call from the plan administrator today. In a year of doing nothing, it's appreciated to $2100, which is a lot better than it would have done sitting around in my IRA! All the more reason to change my motto to "Do nothing and don't show up for things more often."

I'm supporting Marn in the Jog for the Jugs!

I'm a Bazonga Booster...are you?

You can too!


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com