but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

a mel by any other name
Friday, Sept. 12, 2003

Now Playing - Rickie Lee Jones - a song I like but don't know the name of.
Now Eating - nuthin' yet. Lunch with The Fabulous later.
Now Feeling - sad 'bout The Man in Black & Jack Tripper.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


The first Friday Five in a while!

1. Is the name you have now the same name that's on your birth certificate? If not, what's changed? Well, the name I had when I was first born was probably nothing more than "Baby Girl Dansby", so yes, things have changed a bit. I was adopted six days later, and my parents "named" me. That last name was changed when I was in sixth grade, because my peers made fun of it rather mercilessly. And then that last name changed when I married.
2. If you could change your name (first, middle and/or last), what would it be? I wouldn't change a thing. My maiden name (which I use as my stage name) is at turns simple and unique, and I like it that way. And my married name is rather euphonious, I think.
3. Why were you named what you were? (Is there a story behind it? Who specifically was responsible for naming you?) I was almost named Deborah Sue - which to me would have been almost a stereotypical "Jewish Princess" name. I really don't see my self as a "Deborah" or "Debbie" (no offense to those who are ;-). I think my mother might have seen Gone With the Wind around the time I was born, and that's how I became Melanie Sue. My Hebrew name is Malka, which means "queen" and is in memory of my paternal great-grandmother, Molly. I never got a Hebrew middle name, and I'm a bit resentful about that. If I had the choice, I'd choose Hadassah, which translates as "Esther" and is the name of a maternal great-grandmother.
4. Are there any names you really hate or love? What are they and why? Well, names on the short list for the Hypothetical Child include Natalie, Grace, Dinah and Allegra (if folks could get over the connotation with the allergy medicine) for a girl, and Alexander, Nathaniel, Cameron and Graham for a boy. [Brief sidebar: my dad used to work with a woman named Karen, who was from North Carolina. She would always talk fondly of "Gram", and I would think, "Isn't that sweet - she lives with her grandmother!" Until I realized her husband was British, and named "Graham."] I don't have any names I really dislike.
5. Is the analysis of your name at kabalarians.com accurate? How or how isn't it?

Your name of Melanie creates an intense desire for association with people and new experiences, many of which have been rather bitter[no, not that many]. This name has given you a gregarious personality and a quick-thinking, creative, and versatile nature, but one that is unstable emotionally[maybe a bit]. You desire change and travel and would enjoy opportunities that allowed you to be creative and to act independently, rather than to conform to system and routine. However, this name does not allow you to complete your undertakings, as farther fields always look greener[I don't think it's a matter of greener pastures; more like knowing what my responsibilities are]. Although you may appear confident and positive, you actually lack confidence and feel self-conscious at times[okay, yeah]. This name spoils patience and depth of thought[and here I thought it was just Adult ADD], and weakens your stand in matters of principle[Hey!]. You are too open to suggestion, and thus you could become involved in detrimental associations which could lead you into by-paths of thrill-seeking or emotional indulgence[I think I'm way too open to my own suggestions, and have gotten to the point where I've spoiled myself so badly that my willpower's virtually nil].

This is a bit more on the mark:
Health Weaknesses for the name of: Melanie

Any weakness in your health would appear in the fluid functions as kidney, bladder, or circulatory problems, or in a sensitivity affecting your stomach.

Hm. no mention of thyroid or lymph. But I guess kidney, bladder and the occasional sensitive stomach are applicable.

Speaking of things medical, I've been a good girl and scheduled myself a mammorgam and a visit with my old endocrinologist. I was reading a post on a message board about someone's mysterious health problems, and among the things various people suggested were thyroid problems. Discussion followed as to the wide range of thyroid levels considered "normal", and spurred me to make an appointment to speak with the man who was most in the know about what "normal" was for me. Because, though things don't fell as "not-quite-right" as they did last year, I think they still could be better.

Now I just have to get off my ass and go to an opthalmologist and get my kidneys checked.

Not at the same time.

I worry sometimes. One of the problems of being blessed with a (relatively) strong constitution and a high tolerance for pain is wondering how I'll know if I'm really sick. How much pain would it take for me to say to Huz, "Get me to the hospital...NOW"? I have no doubt, should childbirth become a reality, that I would have any qualms about saying the Magic Words "Epidural, please." But knowing how heart attack symptoms differ between women and men, will I know I've crossed the line from "too much hot sauce on my burrito" to coronary thrombosis? Ahh, give me a stick to bite on...I'll tough it out.

Stoic WASP and neurotic Jew are not a good mix.

Anyway, it's Friday, and we've all made it through another work week. I'm doing Chinese and good conversation with The Fabulous for lunch. Maybe I'll dye my hair tonight. I'm seeing Singin' in the Rain tomorrow at Hofstra. Maybe I'll go paint shopping, and refinish a small end table. And I'm sure there'll be laundry, and cooking, and cleaning along the way.

And I'm sure there'll be more, as it comes.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com