but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

wig head for the straight gal?
Monday, Sept. 15, 2003

Now Playing - some Stevie W.
Now Eating - drinking H2O, because I'm dehydrated.
Now Feeling - achy.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


I spent yesterday afternoon putting my friend through Wig Boot Camp. She's never worn a wig in a show before, so I volunteered to put her through her wig-wearin' paces. I think she'll do fine. Showed her how to foof the wig out for some volume (1930's marcelled waves, sitting entirely too flat on her head), and how to pin it close to her temples to keep her own hair from showing, how to put her microphone on...by the time it was done, I felt like an episode of Queer Eye!

Which I love, by the way. Having six million gay male friends, it's just another day at the fair for me. I understand that one friend, while liking the show in general, thinks that the show does perpetuate stereotypes a bit too much. I really don't feel that way. Yes, there are some in-jokes at the expense of straights, and yes, Carson is pretty much as flaming as they come, but I just find the whole show very kind-hearted and well-meaning. It's not like the Fab Five sit around rolling their eyes and muttering "Uch...breeders!" at every design or fashion faux pas. They seem to genuinely care about the outcome of each week's "project," and seem to take genuine pleasure in each small success.

I like Ted best. I like his voice, and his cute little retro glasses.

And I like that they're based in the Tri-State area, because there are locales I recognize, and can visit (should I need my own lil' touch of Queer Eye.) And the super hero opening credits slay me.

That said, I'm off to the Maul, because Huz is out of cologne and I need to keep him sweet-smelling. But I wouldn't sign him up for a makeover...he's fine just as he is.

(And he'd never do it, anyway.)


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com