but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

i think i'm gonna like it here
Wednesday, Jun. 24, 2009

Now Playing - "California" - Rufus Wainwright.
Now Eating - drinking, water.
Now Feeling - achy.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


The Move, She 'As 'Appened. A week-and-a-half ago.

And I'm kind of really pretty damn happy about it.

It's quiet and secluded. I have a lot more real estate, desk- and file-wise. I can go to lunch whenever I please. They threw us a little "Welcome to the Fourth Floor" party on our second day. With a sundae bar. Four words: Barefoot Contessa Hot Fudge.

The days seem to be passing much more quickly. The Boss and I theorize that's because we don't have to look at Teeny Dean's lovely face, or deal with picking up her slack.

Of course, The Boss first had to play the passive-aggressive, how-many-Jewish-grandmothers-does-it-take-to-change-a-light
-bulb-no-it's-fine-I'll-just-sit-in-the-dark act, and say that he wanted the move done with as little expense as possible. Which included refusing to have a door cut from his office into our suite. Which made me slightly...oh, livid, because it was a retread of this situation, on a smaller scale. But The Woman Who Hates Me (But Probably Doesn't, Really) and Her Assistant agreed that it was ridiculous, and we decided that the building coordinator will try to have the door cut while The Boss is on vacation for two-and-a-half weeks in July.

So I've been preoccupied with Really Important Things, like trying to remember where I packed the postage stamps, and finding the optimal location for my garbage pail.

And Looking Busy. Because the economic downturn has finally hit close to home. The Little Law School is in the throes of a massive budget crunch. The College Proper told us that every department's budget had to be slashed by 10%, to the tune of 2 million dollars total. We had a sit-down and elected reps who took our suggestions, and the next day sat in an hours-long meeting to discuss where cuts could be made. The biggest cuts proposed were to reduce full-time faculty salaries and to eliminate The College's matching of our TIAA-CREF contributions for a year. Which sucks, because there are so few perks to this job that the matching was kind of important. Especially seeing as my husband has no retirement plan of his own.

And, things being tough all over, we're in a kind of budget crunch ourselves, what with all those fun Adult Things like credit card debt, increasing taxes and escrow, and the usual decreasing summer revenue. We decided to drop my TIAA-CREF deductions for at least until the summer ends just to have a little extra money coming in. But the thought of possibly not getting even a cost of living raise in December gives one a lot more than just pause.

But I digress. I'm much happier being in this office. That counts for a lot, especially after two years and nine months of misery with Teeny Dean.

MUCH. Happier.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
3 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com