but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

the book of us
Monday, Aug. 10, 2009

Now Playing - "Rain Come Down" - eastmountainsouth.
Now Eating - drinking, water.
Now Feeling - not really wistful.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


There are words, so many words. On pieces of paper tacked to bulletin boards, slipped under the door to the room as I slept, typed on ancient typewriters. Cards for Valentine's Day, Christmas, my birthday. Letters during the long months between. Pages swiped from the backs of notebooks. Emails and texts and instant message conversations, once the written word had become superfluous. The words unsaid because we were terrified of what they might mean, because once said they could never be stuffed back into the recesses of our minds and mouths. The look I could read on your face when you almost asked me to stay, the words perched like birds on the tip of your tongue. The words you breathed in my ear as you pressed your body into mine. The words I traced upon your back. Words meant to sting, words made to wound, words to make each other laugh when we recalled them days later. Words to explain the past, to express the regret of missed chances. The unfinished story, when my words are met by silence. I will never know an ending.

I will never write the book of us.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com