but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

eyesight to the blind
Thursday, Nov. 15, 2007

Now Playing - nothing.
Now Eating - drinking, water.
Now Feeling - drowsy.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


The follow-up visit to my opthalmologist was October 28th. The same day the revamped Great Scott & Zelda reopened. He asked me some of the same questions he'd asked not two weeks before, dilated my eyes (dosed me with the drops FOUR times), looked at them and gave me the all clear, and, when I asked for the drops that reverse the dilation, drops that he's given me every time I've seen him, calmly informed me that they're no longer made. His response to my distress at having to do a show four hours later looking like Little Frickin' Orphan Annie was "Well, I guess I'm not clairvoyant [was that an attempt at ophthalmologic humor?] � how was I to know?" He dosed me with alternate drops that he said would give me a killer headache (at that point I already had one, so who gave a crap?) and sent me home with only three out of four sample lenses (I've still had no word on that backordered right lens). The first left lens developed what looked like protein deposits after one week, and its compatriot just developed them today. But the biggest problem was that the prescription wasn't correct. I can't see clearly more than five feet away with my right eye. And I need that eye. I called today for a follow-up to the follow-up, and I can't get in until the 26th. I called again tonight to complain about the protein deposits, and they're supposed to call me at work tomorrow. I hope to be seen tomorrow. And I may have to yell. Because I need my right eye to work. I just googled "binocular balancing," and if I may quote from one site, "You need to leave the dominant eye with the better vision." If I can't see out of my right eye, it's inconvenient, uncomfortable and (when the right eye turns because I'm relying on the left) damned ugly. I may have to yell, or just find another damn doctor. One who'll listen.

Ugh. Goodnight.

(Oh, and there's nothing like going through your archives and finding five year-old typos.)


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com