but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

make or break
Wednesday, Nov. 14, 2007

Now Playing - gurgle of dishwasher.
Now Eating - nothing.
Now Feeling - meh.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


One of the perks of both the earlier sunset and having an office in full view of the parking lot? Doing a reasonable facsimile of downward dog in order to floss out that damn thing that's been stuck in my teeth since lunch. Hello, law students! Am flexible!


Not to go all Carrie Bradshaw on y'all, but what are some relationship deal-breakers that you've overlooked because of your affection for the person in question?

I swore I would never date a boy who spat. Granted, my frame of reference was limited to "high school dirtbags hanging out behind the cafeteria...haaaaawk-PTOOIE!" spitters. And then I met a boy from Oklahoma. And granted too, he was not a typical Okla-homeboy - more like a typical chorus-boy-who-could-give-Tommy-Tune- a-run-for-his-money-in-both-height-and-tappability. And he spat. "I'm from Oklahoma; it's what we do." But he was always very subtle about it - no hocking of the loogie, more like an old cowboy settin' on a porch chewin' terbacky. So I didn't mind it.

The emotional unavailability, however....

Other things I tolerated at the time - smoking, hairiness, Mormonism (joking, he and his family were lovely people)...and one I tolerate to this day, twelve years later. I swore I'd never be involved with a guy with a moustache.

Reader, I married it.

So how 'bout it? What did (or do) you tolerate that you never thought you would?

(Okay, is it weird that I just had to look at my theatrical resume in order to get the chronology of the men in my life?)


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com