but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

popsicles, icicles
Monday, Oct. 15, 2007

Now Playing - "Reap The Wild Wind" - Ultravox.
Now Eating - Portuguese sourdough bread.
Now Feeling - congested.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


I love that even on the days I don't exactly love doing this show (and oh, our last two Thursdays have been...not great) I still love doing this show. I love that even though three weekends in we reached the end of what I like to call "company manners" (a term for the behavior you put on for guests in you home, but one I've morphed into meaning the tolerance you show for fellow cast members' foibles, until you reach the point where you realize you've spent too damn much time together) I didn't let it affect me in the slightest. Because I am still having such a blast doing this show. I don't know how it happened. I honestly wasn't sure I would. Between feeling that we were so far behind going into tech week, and then dealing with the technical clusterfuck that was tech week (Injuries and arguments and near-disasters, oh my!), making it through opening weekend seemed like a minor miracle. I love that we made it somehow. I love that the response from critics and peers alike has been overwhelmingly positive. I am having the best time.

What else do I love? Hot water. Laundry. Dish washing. Having clean clothes at any time. Never having dishes in the sink. Cushy carpeting under my feet. Yes, the place is still a mess of amassed boxes, and there's nothing on the walls, but it's starting to feel less like an incredibly expensive extended stay hotel. We vacated our storage unit, so I'm going to love the extra $108 a month. Refunds and credits and money coming in on a regular basis. No credit card debt. Sprigs of eucalyptus in a galvanized tin bucket in my vestibule window. Knitting in bed at night.

What I'm not loving at the moment (Oh, like y'all didn't see THAT coming!) is my ophthalmologist. The fact that he did not have my current contact lens prescription in my file ("Maybe you're not wearing a toric lens in your right eye.") The fact that he was agog when he looked in my eye and found a toric lens (Does it not say in the file that I have astigmatism in both eyes?). The fact that his receptionist did not know I'd already made an appointment for a follow-up visit the same day I was there. And told me I couldn't have my sample lenses until that follow-up visit.

And I wonder why my head aches.

I can eliminate one cause, though; it ain't because I'm jacked up on birth control pills. Since going off The Pill, I've noticed two things in particular (that I want to blog about, anyway): 1. PMS has greatly abated and 2. I have fewer headaches, especially of the "hormonal migraine" sort. And it's pretty grand, in a freaky "So I suffered all those years?" kind of way. My PMS symptoms would vary from month to month: the crying jags, the focusing my bitchery on one person for the week, the aching boobs, the inability to string two words together in a coherent fashion, the giant zit threatening to stage a coup and take over my entire face, the Mean Reds, etcetera, etcetera. About the only thing I can reliably pinpoint now is the aching boobs, easily remedied with a dose of Evening Primrose oil. And the three-day headaches no amount of ibuprofen can assuage? Pretty much gone.

Not today, though. I feel like I'm fighting a cold and haven't slept well all weekend. Guess I'll stop the kvetching and go back to pretending to work. Happy Monday.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com