but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

hold your bat boy
Sunday, Jul. 13, 2003

Now Playing - the Mets game, in the other room.
Now Eating - there's a CPK frozen pizza in the oven
Now Feeling - hungry!
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Show's open. Now maybe life can get back to normal. Of course, I've already begun jam-packing my schedule with extra-curriculars.

Tonight we go out to dinner with the Best Man and Wife, as they have secured a sitter. Meeting them at their house, so I can at least get in some serious Twinlet Smooching beforehand. And we can give them the stuffed lion and tiger we got them for their first birthday back in April.

Monday night, I'm trekking into the city after work to dine with two high school buddies. Terry and Ron. Terry was the one who organized the mini-reunion back in November (a photo from which you can see here). Ter came into our school in what, ninth grade? But it was always my impression that she never had trouble making friends. She knew people in every clique, which made her a natural at organizing the reunion. And I think the reason is that she is naturally outgoing and one of most inherently funny people I've ever met. Just got married recently. I'm happy she's happy, and spending time with her's always a kick in the pants. And Ron. Ron and I were in shows together, and chorus officers together, and went to the prom together. He was always the nicest guy. Around reunion time, Terry & I were talking about people we hadn't heard from, and Ron was among them. So I did a search on him, found he was teaching music in a high school I used to pass on my way to work, and that he was sick. Bad sick. Cancer sick. Not what you want to hear about your prom date. A few months later, at one of the Garcia Girls performances, I happened upon another teacher at the same school. Asked her about Ron, and she said that yes, he was sick, but she had seen him recently at the school musical. So I gave her one of our flyers and put my email address on it, and asked her to put it in his mailbox. Got a brief email from him, to which I didn't respond (bad Mel), but he told us both to bring pictures Monday. We have a lot of catching up to do! Gonna get myself some chili at my favorite Mexican restaurant, and then Terry mentioned this place, where I may have to avail myself of some White Chocolate Wonderful Peanut Butter. Oh, my.

Tuesday I'm proctoring summer finals. Wednesday I'm giving blood and doing laundry. We have shows Thursday through Sunday. I'm squeezing in a lesson Friday afternoon, and possibly a vocal workshop on Sunday. And next week holds the possibility of Big River and an audition for Cabaret. We shall see.


So The Huz emerged relatively unscathed from his softball adventure. Stiff and sore, and with a bad ol' sunburn which quickly abated thanks to those Sicilian genes. Now he's got a nice Farmer Tan on his neck, arms and legs. And I have a still-living husband, which is always a good thing.

So yes, Bat Boy opened successfully, to critical (a local review which should come out later in the week and should be very positive) and professional (friends telling me they think it's the best thing I've ever done) acclaim. And naturally, there were some scary moments (dropped lines, missed vocals, and one big prop that had some trouble making it onstage), but all-in-all it went well. There was a a small reception after (homemade spanakopita, wine and cheeses, and coconut chicken), and instead of going out after that, I sat in Jeff's office and talked with him until 2:15. Good talk. And then last night, Joy and Al and The Fabulous came to the show, and The Fab and I were at Chili's until 1:30. We hadn't seen each other since the holidays, so there was much talking to be done.

Good conversation with good people. Makes me happy.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com