but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

not as far as I could throw him
Saturday, Nov. 24, 2007

Now Playing - nothing.
Now Eating - a Godiva coconut truffle.
Now Feeling - achy.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Over Thanksgiving dinner, Mom shared some news about my aunt. Based on the results of a PET scan she had, the doctor says she doesn't have Alzheimer's. Doc thinks she may be depressed, and will be medicating her accordingly. But here's something interesting. The last day she was in town for a recent visit, My Uncle the Bigot took her to breakfast and had her sign a piece of paper. My aunt being even more of a draykopf (Yiddish: lit. "airhead") than my mother, didn't read what she signed, and has no idea what it was. Her daughters were supposed to bring her a copy the last time they came down to visit, but didn't. MUtB and Daughters had a conference call with my mother's cousin recently. He's a Florida resident like my auntie, and they were asking his advice on a suitable Medicare Part D for her. When Cousin asked MUtB what the paper was and what it said, MUtB told him it was "just something that said I loved her and would always take care of her."

Pardon me while I call BULLSHIT. Knowing my uncle, it was probably something destined to screw my aunt out of any of his money, and leave her with absolutely no recourse. And knowing my cousins, they went along with it because he holds the purse strings.


My contact lenses arrived yesterday. EIGHT of them. He sent the pair I left in the office (gee, thanks!), two other pairs and two different-size right lenses to test for fit. So far I like one pair better than the other, but the vision in my right eye is not as sharp as it should be. At least we'll have something to argue about at Monday's appointment.


Because I was not feeling ambitious enough to open any flat-packed Swedish furniture boxes tonight, I hung drapes in the dining room instead. Almost killed myself in the process, between falling off the stepladder and the near-coronary from spitting and cursing the studs that weren't where they should be, or were where they shouldn't. My hatred for those damn plastic wall anchors burns with the fire of a thousand suns. Looks nice though, and the house already feels warmer. No pics of them yet (they need steaming and tiebacks), but here are a couple of my china cabinets. I can get all my china in my cupboards. I love that. Click on the photos for details.

My vintage dinnerware...

vintage china, cabinet

and all my new Fiestaware.

Nouveau Fiestaware

I *heart* my kitchen.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com