but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

win-place-show
Monday, Nov. 05, 2007

Now Playing - hum of computer.
Now Eating - drinking, diluted lemonade.
Now Feeling - sneezy.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


My mother called to tell me she'd made a reservation for Thanksgiving dinner here, that her sister may have Alzheimer's and is becoming a Catholic, and that her cousin has a potentially fatal disease.

I think she hit the family trifecta of dinner, religion and sickness pretty well there, eh?

Thanksgiving dinner had reared its ugly head again recently, because my brother is one again pulling the "Gee, I wish we could have a home-cooked Thanksgiving" shtick on Mom. Mom feels like crap, but feels even crappier with the guilt trip. But she made the first move with this reservation; we'll see how she holds up once my brother's out-laws get wind of the deal. I will not stand for a repeat of last year's fiasco.

My auntie moved down to Florida some years ago, unofficially separating from my uncle the bigot. Though she's younger than my mother (who's only 66) her health has been failing as of late, what with a broken hip and some seizures which were thought to be a recurrence of her mostly-dormant epilepsy, but turned out to be mini-strokes. Auntie loves her bingo and lives in a pretty goyishe area, so attending church with her neighbors came naturally, I suppose. But hearing G-d talking to her in church and welcoming her? Is that G-d or Dementia talking, who can say? Her kids are a little put off, and my brother is furious, for some reason. Why? it's not like she's gonna have any more kids and raise them out of the faith! I'm concerned for her health, speaking physically and mentally, but if finding G-d makes her happy, so be it.

As for my mom's cousin...well, my auntie was the one who told Mom, and swore her to secrecy because no-one's supposed to know, so not much more detail can be gleaned from that. And given Auntie's state of mind, the veracity�s a tad suspect as well. Cousin's a dear woman, and a devout one, from the Floridian Italian Catholic branch of the family (yes, there is one). I wish her well - as I said she's a dear, and has a son and two special needs grandchildren whom she loves very much.

NaBloPoMo Day 5 - must get this sucker in under the wire, then off to bed!


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com