but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

it's like the anti-holiday holiday!
Friday, Nov. 23, 2007

Now Playing - in my head, "Back to Before." In my ears, Pee-wee's Big Adventure, from the living room.
Now Eating - drinking, Dr Pepper.
Now Feeling - shocked...SHOCKED!
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Thanksgiving was...nice.

There was no endless wait like last year, the food was good, the company was civilized, and the meal went quickly. We went back to my parents' and hung for a couple of hours, waiting for HB to get off work so we could head over there for dessert. Shoo-fly pie and...CANDIED BACON. Which was basically bacon dredged in dark brown sugar and then broiled. I ate about a half-pound of CANDIED BACON. To which Bill (forgetting my roots) said "You are a bad New York Jew!" and I replied, "Yes, but I am an excellent Southern Baptist!" It was an early night (for us), home by 2 a.m., as Huz was feeling poorly.

And he's feeling even more poorly today, so there was no big Black Friday excursion. I did make a small one to Staples to score us a set of cordless phones on which we will actually make a profit, thanks to a fortuitous combination of gift card and rebate.

I also bought a printer cartridge, as my old printer died a horrible plastic-spewing death, and the one that was included with my now three-year-old computer had a wonky black ink sample cartridge. Also did a bit of cord wrangling, so things are much neater down in the depths of the computer armoire.

Plans for the weekend include sleeping in, being a layabout, and perhaps some obligation theatre if I can get myself out of the house.

Here's to holiday weekend laziness.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
1 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com