but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

this is not what i do all day
Thursday, Jul. 13, 2006

Now Playing - a lil' John Hiatt.
Now Eating - salami!
Now Feeling - cramptacular, thank you for asking.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Look! Salami on a rope! Perfect for a little nosh in the shower!

It makes a nice sandwich…a nice sandwich!

As a �Hi! We�re The New Little Jewish Law School Next Door!� gesture, we�re sending salamis from Katz�s Deli to federal judges. $1400 worth of salami. S�alotta salami. We were guinea pigs and sampled some yesterday. Good, but sneakily pungent.


The week has both dragged and flown, and I can�t wrap my mind around the concept of �Thursday.� This week�s project was the sending of leases and receiving of deposits for our dorm. Copying. And Express Mailing. And harassing those who hadn�t given deposits, to see if they even plan on attending. And more copying. And placating students who sent deposits we hadn�t received/suddenly needed housing/wanted a private bathroom. Somehow we managed to keep all our ducks in a row, and tomorrow�s reward is The Partner in Crime�s birthday lunch at a new local barbeque place.

I know, you�re shocked. Shocked!


To continue the real estate theme, we�re mulling the purchase of a condo. Last Friday, we visited a new development near the future site of the law school, and took a look at this (and went for barbeque after�WHAT?!?). And really liked it. A lot. Of course what we really liked was the luxuriously appointed downstairs model unit, not the bare bones unfurnished upper. But there are any variety of modifications that can be made, and customized to our needs. (Do we need the fancy shelving in the laundry room? I think not. Do we need the built-in over-stove microwave, when our countertop one will do just fine? Nah. Do we need the dishwasher? HELL YEAH.)

If we pay off our debts, NEVER use our credit cards ever ever again, never need new cars (hello, I could walk to work!) and really tighten our belts, I think we could do it. Now we just need to do fun stuff like getting a mortgage at a rate that won�t kill us, and learning what words like �points� and �amortization� and �escrow� mean. I was up most of Friday night, mentally furnishing my Barbie Dream House�Condo�Whatever.

Any advice from you homeowners out there?


Sunday, Huz and I undertook our errand into the maze that is the New York City highway system, and headed up north. I had my last Belle of the season back in Newburgh, NY for the D0minican Sist3rs of H0pe (yes, it appears I�m trying to fend off gaggles of Googling nuns). David and Rick both had shows themselves, so Huz generously offered to drive the big ol� van and be my roadie for once. The weather was gorgeous, the drive stress-free, the audience lovely. Actually had some live pre-show music courtesy of an ex-student (the building housed an exclusive nun-run boarding school before it became a home for aged sisters) who periodically visits and plays piano for her former teachers. The woman who booked us plied us with beverages and desserts, and gave us a tour of the facilities afterward. Their chapel, built in the 20s with incredible acoustics, marble and stained glass, and a huge (non-working, unfortunately) pipe organ in the choir loft, was gorgeous. And I now have a nun including me in her prayers.

Can�t hurt, right?


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
5 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com