but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

not bad, just drawn that way
Thursday, Jul. 20, 2006

Now Playing - The Chapin Sisters, live on 'FUV.
Now Eating - nothing. Just buttered a bagel for Gimpy Boss.
Now Feeling - better than when I started writing this.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Thanks so much for the real estate advice, everyone. I really appreciate it, and here�s hoping we can put it to good use.

We told my parents about the condo over the weekend. They are thrilled (THA-RILLED), and want to go visit this weekend. Yes, there will be barbeque.

The down payment, she is in the mail. The mortgage, she is another matter. There is much shopping around to be done.

So in discussing this with The Mom, she came out with something that stung just a bit.

I�m paraphrasing her exact language, but the gist was �Even though you haven�t had children, I�m still proud of you.�

She didn�t mean it as a knock against me, really she didn�t. I think she just sees it as an opportunity lost. And she followed it with how she and Dad are too infirm now to handle grandkids anyway. I only took it badly in retrospect, though at first it did make me a little sad. What does it mean, exactly? That my two first cousins (who we saw last weekend while visiting my aunt, who was up from Florida) have lives that are somehow more �valid� just because they�ve given birth? My college education, two �careers,� and happy marriage ought to count for something.

[Meanwhile, my brother is moving from State College, PA to Albany, NY this weekend, to take another job within the National Weather Service. This way, he�ll be only three hours away instead of six. That sound you hear would be my small sigh of relief.]


The Boss is gouty. This morning I went to Walgreen�s in search of some sort of �bootie� alternative to a street shoe. No booties to be had � the closest I could come would have been a Dr. Scholl�s insole strapped to his foot with an Ace bandage. But I did manage to buy some more eyeliner for myself, so all was not lost.

The Partner in Crime will have her heart surgery on Monday. Six to eight weeks of recovery. Meanwhile I�ll be doing my old and new jobs, her old and new jobs, any extra stuff Boss #2 throws my way, dealing with Orientation and packing up our entire office for the move. And I�ve had no reassurances from The Powers That Be that I will be given any assistance.

I�m scheduling my nervous breakdown for next Friday.

That is all.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
4 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com