but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

pre-reunion...whatevers
Thursday, Nov. 21, 2002

Now Playing - HGTV
Now Eating - I told you...Saturday!
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


I felt compelled to add a bunch of new diaries to my favorites. And still managed to keep it alphabetized... even though it feels like I spent the entire day cutting and pasting and editing at work!

We're revamping our website, and one of the Deans wants to put a lot the necessary forms and program information we use on a regular basis into a separate file which (I guess) will be given to the designers. And somehow configured into the new site. I'm not exactly sure about that -- I let The Partner in Crime listen to the details so that she could trickle it down to Worker Bee Me when needed. But like I said, it's the busiest time of the semester, so I have a lot of things that need to be done by our office now, even though this Dean's project needs to be done yesterday. So to speak.

I recently discovered that our next-door neighbor, Young Single Guy, plays guitar. Acoustically, and quietly and inoffensively. Although tonight he was playing something that sounded like a folk version of the Winkies' Marching Song in its repetitiveness. Young Single Guy used to live at the other end of the complex, in a two bedroom. But his roomie moved out, and the apartment next door to us opened up when Older Bachelor Guy left. Older Bachelor Guy was very quiet, and I suspected he was gay. I'd see him every so often coming home from golfing in the mornings as I left for work. Smile, nod, you know the drill. Turns out he was straight, and had a ladyfriend with whom he's now living. Semi-cohabitated before, which was why it seemed he was away a lot. Young Single Guy is just as quiet, except for a tendency to slam his front door. But I don't sleep by the front door, so it's fine by me.

It's been noisy here tonight. I feel like Super-man's been hiding in the bushes, throwing rocks at our balcony to scare away the dove. Who's still here, and still a single dove. I don't know what happened to his mate. And he hardly coos anymore. *sigh*

But if it is Super-man, he's startling the hell out of me.

So I'm picking Ashu up at the train, and we'll do dinner before the Casual Reunion. She may crash here tomorrow night. I love that she called me at work, and I picked up the phone to hear "It's Ashuuu..." just like I used to hear on my answering machine. And I love that she's still Ashu. It's a family nickname, and it's what we always called her. Sure she was 'Sav or Asav for a while there in college, but to me she's still just Ashu. Who I've known for 22 years.

She mentioned that she hadn't sent in any tidbits to the girl who's organizing the reunion for her to send to the mailing list. "What am I gonna do, send her my resume?"

We have no idea who we're going to see. We're both hoping we see some people we actually want to see. We talked today about our old friends and how we lost touch. But we're still together. That much lasted.

She's still my best friend.

(Lordy, I still have to color my hair.)


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com