but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

so the web survived without me
Monday, Jul. 28, 2003

Now Playing - Bonnie Raitt - "I Can't Help You Now."
Now Eating - nothing, but we had spicy Mexican for lunch!
Now Feeling - anticipatory.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


I was offline at home from Thursday night until Sunday. Anything interesting happen on the Internet while I was gone?

I see Liza and David are headed for Splitsville. And I must confess, a little part of my heart died along with their dream. As a friend said, does Liza hold some sort of record for most homosexuals married?

So Huz is going to a drum clinic tonight. I�ve known about this for a couple of weeks, but not until Saturday night did he let slip who the Guest Artist is: Sheila E.! He�s buying me a ticket as we speak. Punk�holdin� out on me like that! That should be interesting.

And we have the Mets game tomorrow (with pretty nice seats, thanks to my dad�s office) and tickets to The Fabulous�s musical on Wednesday. And then Bat Boys Thursday through Sunday. And my friend Tom�s show on Saturday afternoon. Which is why I got up extra early yesterday to do laundry, because I realized it was my only chance to do it all week!

Belle went well enough on Saturday. We rehearsed Friday, and I told David going into it that I was shakier on the second act than the first. It was true, but I really read and re-read Act II that night, and was better on it Saturday. I messed up stupid little things. Part of the problem is that I really wasn�t nervous�my outlook was "Well, I'm as prepared as I'm going to be." Maybe I should have been a bit more scared. But I survived, and the audience seemed to enjoy it.

I rushed home, slapped on some hair dye, showered and high-tailed it to the theater. Did the show. Did the cabaret. Came home. Do not intend to do the cabaret again. Maybe it�s passive-aggressive of me, but I�m pissed off. When you�ve known and worked with someone for a good long time (to the point where you consider him a friend), and others who are not as close to this person and (in my opinion) are equally or less talented than you are are given what you consider preferential treatment, what would you do? He couldn�t even be bothered to learn the name of the song I sang. As I�ve said before, I show up, look good, sound good, remember my lyrics and sing interesting stuff. If that�s not �enough,� whatever �enough� is, then so be it. When something is giving you more angst than pleasure, it�s time to opt out.

And�and when said �friend� does not come to see the show you�re starring in (and will not even socialize in the same town) because his ex�s new boyfriend is playing opposite you, would you be annoyed? Would you think a forty-something adult could maybe act like one (after all, he is. an actor ~^) and do the right thing? Get the fuck over himself?? So those two issues combined have me a bit peeved.

Deep cleansing breath.

In other news, Huz is going to a makeshift college reunion over Columbus Day weekend. It�s Homecoming, and a small group of friends decided to gather together just for the heck of it. Spouses will not be going, so I�ll be left to my own devices from Friday morning through Sunday afternoon. And Joy and I hit upon a possible plan. My walls are stark white, and boring. Bo-ring. I was showing her an ad in one of her home magazines that showed this kind of overlapping, stained glass-looking, blue-green-purple jewel toned paint treatment, and lamenting how I could never do such a thing, painting novice that I am. Now, Joy loves to paint. So we�re thinking of pulling a While You Were Out and painting while he�s away. The thought half thrills-half terrifies me. I think we should keep it small � just do the bedroom and possibly the dining room. But then I get visions of redoing our crappy bathroom, and my Inner Vern starts to take over. I�m thinking of doing a colorblocked pattern that would echo our bedroom quilt. This could get interesting! So, shh! don't tell!

So The Parents and The Mom�s Boss and The Boss�s Aunt and The Aunt�s Friend-Who-Is-A-Nun (a former Mother Superior, in fact) came to the show yesterday. And really liked it! The Nun thought the show had a lot of messages�that we all have a "beast" within us was one she mentioned. I told her to come back and bring some more sisters!

My work here is done...time to head home.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
1 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com