but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

hitting the proverbial wall
Thursday, Feb. 20, 2003

Now Playing -
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Oftentimes during tech week, there'll come a rehearsal that completely undoes any good you feel you've previously accomplished, and severely dashes all hope of good things to come.

I had such a rehearsal tonight.

It just felt a mess for me from start to finish. I got my shoes today, and brand spankin' new strappy ballroom shoes hurt like a...well, let's just say the minor abrasion on my big toe felt like the Black Hole of Calcutta after three hours on my feet. When I could stay on my feet, that is. I was tottering like a first time drag queen in those 3" heels. I felt like a pinhead tonight without my hair done, and I'm still not sure what I'm actually going to "do" with it. And dealing with costumes, and lights, and the band, and microphones, and hearing "Hold, please," everytime I opened my mouth, and hating what was coming out of my mouth...oh, it was wretched.

I've had a snow day and two vacation days this week, and feel like I haven't accomplished a thing. We finally picked up the station wagon from our mechanic's at midnight tonight. I still need to buy some makeup. And cut and color my hair.

But I did watch the tape of Julie Harris in The Belle of Amherst (brilliant, brilliant), and David and I succeeded in blocking it all during today's rehearsal. He's going to tape record our next run through so I'll have myself to listen to, and hopefully memorize from. It's daunting -- seventy-five minutes of me onstage, who in their right mind would sit through that? But if I can pull it off, and I almost think I might, it'd be quite an accomplishment.

I need a day of uninterrupted sleep.

Before I get even more disjointed, I'm signing off right here.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com