but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

snowbound!
Monday, Feb. 17, 2003

Now Playing - George Harrison, Robert Johnson, Miles Davis (what is this, a Dead Guys Festival?) and Brazilian techno on shuffle.
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


19.5" of snow at last count. There's easily a foot on our balcony, and six inches or so on the window sills. No mean feat, considering we're on the second floor.

The Partner in Crime called around 10 last night. I answered the phone with, "Tell me somethin' good!" to which she replied that yes, school had been closed. They were more willing to since there are no classes today. And since I'm taking the next two days off, hello five day weekend! And if they close tomorrow, I won't lose a vacation day.

After rehearsal ended last night, I got into the station wagon, turned the key and...nothing. Not surprising, since the last time it was at the mechanic's, he divined that it was still on the original battery. It's a '95. Half an hour and two jump starts later, I was on my cautious way. Huz finally called me back when I was five minutes from home, so I headed to our mechanic, abandoned the car, and Huz & I went to dinner at Legal Sea Foods.

This snow thing throws a bit of a wrench into our car retrieval plans. Good thing I'm off.

And what have I accomplished? Not bloody much. I've become quite accomplished at staring out the window and discerning whether or not it is still snowing. But no laundry (Are you nuts? It's a whiteout out there!), no learning lines, no tidying...hell, there's still a few hours left in the day. I am going to make dinner, though. Ribeye steaks in a wine sauce, pertaters and broccoli.

This entry was much more interesting the first time I wrote it. Really.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com