but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

ooh, mah feet
Friday, Feb. 21, 2003

Now Playing - "Gone" - John Hiatt. Yes, it's definitely Hiatt.
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


The Friday Five

1. What is your most prized material possession? My wedding rings.

2. What item, that you currently own, have you had the longest? No clue. Some pretty old sweaters from late high school/early college, and old jewelery, but I couldn't pinpoint the oldest item among my possessions. I still have the stuffed panda bear I got when I was four, but he doesn't reside with us.

3. Are you a packrat? To a degree, but I do periodically go through piles and throw stuff out, when I realize they're things I'll never use.

4. Do you prefer a spic-and-span clean house? Or is some clutter necessary to avoid the appearance of a museum? I couldn't be a neat freak. I don't have that perfectionist streak in me.

5. Do the rooms in your house have a theme? Or is it a mixture of knick-knacks here and there? The bedroom has ocean and lake photographs, and a cool palette. Living room is blue & white and country-ish. Kitchen and dining room are kind of retro, with all my 50's dinnerware displayed and "vintage" signs on the walls.


Last night's rehearsal went a damn sight better than the night before. Fun with Hair notwithstanding.

My hair is happiest when it is allowed to be exactly what it is: long, shiny and straight. You might say my hair is entirely content with being typecast, and does not aspire to "play against type" or "widen its range."

I am very un-handy with hair. In my adult life, I've had two hairstyles. I had perms for a stretch of 10 years because I had no clue as to what to do with it, and then after college I lopped off six inches and began growing it out to its current long, shiny straightness.

I can blow it out, let it air dry into subtle waviness, braid it, and put it up in a bun (with a net - without one, it sticks out all over).

I can curl it under duress, but that's as fancy as I go. So I curled it for Act I, but the director wants me to wear it up for Act II. A bun would make me look like a librarian. The only other option is the French Twist of Death. When I was curly-haired, French Twists were no problem. But for hair with no texture, a twist is a royal pain. I'm shocked it stayed up at all. But it looked like a misshapen croissant. Ah, well. Practice makes perfect.

I have discovered the antidote to three hours in ballroom shoes...Dansko closed-back clogs. They're the footie equivalent of that line from Kurt Weill's Street Scene: "So I just take off my corset and let myself spread." Firm, not cushy, but for someone who could use a little arch support, just what the doctor ordered.

Must high-tail it to the DMV today to renew my license, as it expires Sunday with that birthday thing. Have to do the eye exam, or I would have renewed it by mail. Other than that, I'll have nothing to do 'til final dress. I love getting out early on Fridays. What a lovely way to start a weekend.

Off to memorize the eye chart.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com