but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

unprofessional much?
Thursday, Oct. 24, 2002

Now Playing - not a damn thing. It's quiet...too quiet.
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Now I consider myself easy enough to get along with. And I appreciate that quality in others. It just makes life that much simpler all around.

Then why do people have to behave like schmucks???

I proctored a midterm this morning. It was to be given from 10:00 to 11:00 a.m. It did not get started 'til 10:05 - the students were very talkative, some came in late, there were the logistics of distributing 54 tests in a small classroom to contend with, etc. The next class was to begin at 11:10. We were still signing people out at that time. Signing out is a procedure unto itself. The students have to put certain numbers in certain places on their paperwork, and sign out on a sheet, all in front of their friendly proctor; in this case, me. The professor in the next class was morally and spiritually offended that I would intrude upon his valuable class time, and proceeded to drag the table out into the hallway. Thus corrupting the integrity of the sign out procedure (what with papers and students and stuff flying hither and yon), and his own as well, as it made him look, in the words of one student, "ridiculous."

I tell ya, was that really necessary?

I got back to my office at 11:16. You think he could have given me that extra 5 minutes.

In "discussing" it with me later, he stated that he felt it was my job to ensure "that he is able to teach his classes" in addition to properly administering the exam. Excuse me, Prof, last I looked I was in Student Affairs. Faculty Services, should you need "servicing," is right next door. Don't let the proximity fool ya, they're two different things.

I mean, I'm all for going the extra mile if you behave in a decent manner toward me. And there's no saying how far I'll go if you're genuinely nice. But cross me, and the next time you need the time of day I may have just lost my watch.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com