but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

typhoid mel
Saturday, Jun. 14, 2003

Now Playing - Schoolhouse Rock. Yay for hearkening back to childhood.
Now Eating -
Now Feeling - like I should get off my ass.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


In about five minutes, the weather progressed from "pouring" to "teeming" to "Holy crap! Is it monsoon season?" The gutters were overflowing. Arks were being built in the parking lot.

It's abated somewhat, but my drive to the show will be a nightmare, I'm sure. And I haven't showered yet, so that means I'll be struck by lightning in the tub. Fatalistic, moi?

Well, the Huz has not managed to emerge unscathed from my latest bout of illness. Yup, he's been infected by Typhoid Mel. And even with a rapidly diminishing ability to talk (he sounds verrrrry sax-y right now) he still manages to make me laugh.

I missed rehearsal today. Honestly didn't think I was called. When the stage manager left a message at 11:15 saying they were concerned since I was supposed to be there at 10:45, I was genuinely shocked. Called back, and Jeff got on the phone to say he'd sent someone to the dressing room last night to tell me I wasn't called 'til 10:45, but the message never reached me. Otherwise I certainly would not have stayed out 'til 3 a.m!

I've discovered my ideal drink. Malibu & Coke. Tastes like the beach, keeps me hydrated with all that ice, and I swear I must've had 7 of them last night (in the span of four hours) and didn't feel a thing. In a good way. I don't like hard liquor. And I only had one drink where I actually commented to someone about how strong it was. Foofy, wussy, girly drink. Works for me.

Yeah, rehearsal. I'm doing Bat Boy, 'case I hadn't mentioned. Sick-ass funny show. The more I listen, the more I realize the different genres it falls into. It's part Little Shop, part Sweeney Todd, part Greek tragedy.... Huz says the music reminds him of You're a Good Man, Charlie Brown crossed with Tommy. What a combo.

I'm recovering, slowly. Back on the antibiotics, taking all of them this time. Congestion's out of the nose, but I still have an annoying-as-all-get-out cough.

And I need to get my ass into the shower.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com