but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

well, if we're pointing fingers...
Monday, Jun. 09, 2003

Now Playing -
Now Eating -
Now Feeling - slightly peaked.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


*whew* I'm back. It was a tough week. Five shows, and me feeling better by varying degrees each day. So much so that on Saturday night I said to myself, "Wow, I don't even sound nasal anymore!" Which was the kiss of death, because I woke up Sunday feeling more congested than I had in a while. And didn't get enough sleep, because I had a rehearsal in the morning. And couldn't clear myself out to save my life. And had a really crappy matinee in which I gargled phlegm, and mussed up lyrics and forgot props. But my friends, saints that they are, told me it was good anyway.

Today I'm still feeling like I've relapsed a little bit. Coughing, and my throat and chest ache. I'm going to have to watch myself the next few days. But of course, rehearsals for the next show have now begun. No rest for the wicked.

After the matinee, a bunch of us wound up at Paula Jean's Supper Club. Someone we knew was tending bar. Ohhh, yummy food. I had a Crawfish Enchilada, and sampled some Crawfish Etouffee. Mmmm...craw-feesh! I'm definitely taking The Huz back there. And getting me some Jambalaya!

We stayed to hear a blues combo play, and I totally missed the Tony Awards. Didn't much care, as I hadn't seen anything this season and had no vested interest in who won. Huz gave me a recap when I got home.

Got an email from Mom this morning, asking if I'd seen the Tonys. She wrote,

After watching TV tonight and listening to Bernadette Peters talk about how her mom took her to every show on B'way (and it seems that all the actresses said the same thing about their moms), I realize you did everything on your own - without my help - for this, I'm really sorry - I hope you don't hold this against me...we're very proud of all you have achieved and realize it has not been easy doing it on your own.

What do you say to something like that? Yeah, sometimes I wonder what it would have been like if my parents had more money. If I'd had a privileged childhood filled with dance lessons, and voice lessons and exclusive theatre sleepaway camps from the age of four. If I'd had parents with disposable income that could have taken me to Broadway shows every week, and supported me after college so I didn't have to get a "real" job. If I'd had a Mama Rose behind me, pushing all the way. As with so many things in life, a lot of it comes down to money. Instead, though, I had parents who did not discourage me and my brother from following our dreams. Who, when they saw me "blossom" in my sixth grade play, sent me to a theatre day camp for the next four summers, where this oddball little kid finally found a place she felt she actually belonged. Who didn't say to me, "With your brains, you should major in something other than theatre. You're wasting your mind. And it's a very tough life, and there's no guarantee you'll make a success of it." Who never miss an opportunity to see me perform, and have always been unfailingly supportive. I have friends with parents and spouses who don't like to see them perform. Who don't care about what they do. Who don't want to see them succeed in the one area of their lives that gives them such pleasure. So maybe I didn't have all those "advantages." And in a way, I blame myself - I could have pushed for things, I could have continued longer with the lessons I did have. But I was a reticent, shy and occasionally lazy little kid who didn't push for things. And I could have applied myself more in college, maybe become one of those "department favorites." You get out of things what you put into them. But I certainly don't "blame" my parents, or feel that they never "helped" me. They helped me in the best way they could - by supporting me and loving me.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com