but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

watch as i shove my ideology down your throat!
Monday, Jun. 16, 2003

Now Playing - Tom Waits - "I Hope That I Don't Fall In Love With You."
Now Eating - Lunch was CPK, of course.
Now Feeling - that the hyphen is my New Best Friend.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Ever feel like the bandwagon is pulling away, and you're fighting tooth and nail to hang on? Don't panic - this is not a "pre-midlife crisis" moment; just a feeling like I'm coming in at the tail end of this diary thing. Several of my original favorites have closed up shop or locked themselves, and looking at them makes me wonder when my burnout will set in. Feh. I'm doing this because I wanted to start writing again, and to have an outlet. If life is busy and I can't update as often as I'd like, so be it. The Internet is not hanging on my every word. And this is certainly not meant to instill fear in those who have just started out.

That said, anyone else have a pattern in checking their buddy list? I have a quasi-hierarchy about the whole thing that varies according to my mood. Hmm...lessee, do I feel like a quick shot of humor, or a longer, more in-depth entry? Should I start with a diarist I've read from "the beginning," or a more recent read whose archives I have not fully plumbed? These are the kind of tough decisions we face every day in the Mod Household.

On to more annoying subjects.

As I say in my D'land profile, I am, among other things, a Jewish, Liberal Democrat. And yes, I have friends and relatives who are not. I understand and accept this. Consequently, I employ the "Think Before You Hit Send" method, and don't forward stuff to folks whose political/religious leanings I don't know. I do wish they'd show me the same courtesy.

To second cousin E., who sent me a variation on the piece quoted here:

Since the terrorist attacks on Sept. 11, we have experienced a surge in patriotism by the majority of Americans. However, the dust from the attacks had barely settled when the "politically correct" crowd began complaining about the possibility that our patriotism was offending others.

I don't believe it's the "patriotism" that's offending folks, it's more the rampant, rabid, uncompromising jingoism. And I bet there are plenty of "patriots" who fought for their country who are just as offended as I am at the sight of tattered American flags hanging from car antennas and being left to fade on their rear window ledges. I personally find all those "Fuck Osama" and "Blow them all back to the Stone Age" bumperstickers mighty offensive, thank you. Because they're just vulgar. And I don't intend to fly a flag just because "everybody's doing it," with no thought as to how it should be properly displayed.

"In God We Trust" is our national motto. This is not some Christian, right wing, political slogan. We adopted this motto because Christian men and women, on Christian principles, founded this nation, and this is clearly documented. It is certainly appropriate to display it on the walls of our schools. If God offends you, then I suggest you consider another part of the world as your new home, because God is part of our culture.

The above would appear to indicate to me that, despite your reawakened interest in Judaism, you're considering converting to Christianity. Otherwise, why the emphasis on our nation as a "Christian" one? If "In G-d We Trust," may I ask which G-d, whose G-d? Which G-d is the best G-d? Because that's what it's really all about, isn't it? My G-d is better than yours? I bet "G-d envy" never occurred to Dr. Freud.

And "certainly appropriate to display on the walls of our schools"? Separation of church and state, anyone? Still debatable, and still unresolved. See the above "Whose G-d Is It Anyway?" diatribe.

As Americans, we have our own culture, our own society, our own language and our own lifestyle. This culture has been developed over centuries of struggles, trials, and victories by millions of men and women who have sought freedom.

Our own language? We speak "American?" And the millions of men and women who still come here seeking freedom should automatically subjugate their cultural identities in favor of the "American" culture, which is admittedly an amalgam of the cultures of the immigrants who came here "over centuries" seeking freedom?

We speak ENGLISH, not Spanish, Portuguese, Arabic, Chinese, Japanese, Russian, or any other language. Therefore, if you wish to become part of our society, learn the language!

And you might as well start before you emigrate, so that when we stereotypical "Ugly Americans" visit your country, you can be sure and speak our language! We're spending enough hard-earned Amercan dollars in your homeland, we're entitled to that much, dammit!

To my friend K., who sent a forward about this:

[this bit was actually appended to the "original" text.] It has been reported that 86% of Americans believe in God. Therefore, I have a very hard time understanding why there is such a mess about having "In God We Trust" on our money and having God in the pledge of Allegiance.

Could it be that we just need to take action and tell the 14% to sit down and shut up?

Yeah, because that whole "Freedom of Speech" thing can be such a real pain in the ass, can't it?

Did I send this to them? No. Because I don't believe in sticking my political/religious agenda down anyone else's craw without their permission. I merely replied with the appropriate snopes links, and a simple "Please don't send me political/religious stuff anymore." If they ask, I'll tell.

Tomorrow? Those damned "Missing Child" emails that Mom sends over and over!


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com