but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

ode to trader joe
Thursday, Sept. 26, 2002

Now Playing - yankee hotel foxtrot - wilco
Now Eating -
Now Feeling -
Now Tweeting - Melanie


So I took a mental health day off from work today.

Know what I had for lunch? Hors d'oeuvres!

And not just any "Puff'n'Puppy" hors d'oeuvres...classy Trader Joe�s hors d'oeuvres! Little lobster thermidor poofs. Mini seafood quiches. Mushroom turnovers. Smoked salmon and cream cheese phyllo triangles. I could make a meal out of hors d'oeuvres. And have. Maybe someday I'll own an all-hors d'oeuvres restaurant.

"Hors d'oeuvres...they're not just for fancy dinner parties any more!"

I love Trader Joe's. I love their whole "bargain basement (but not) grocery store" aesthetic. Their prices are great. They stock some really neat stuff. Cheapass, delicious gourmet ravioli. Vitamin water for less than you'll find it anywhere else. A to-die-for hot honey mustard that is neither too hot nor too honey. Buffalo and ostrich burgers. Incredible shrimp. Enormous ten ounce logs of goat cheese for four bucks. Chicken stock. Roasted tomato puree that is great for chili. Orangina!

Okay, now I'm drooling on the keyboard.


So that was a while ago, as I have been busy assembling the heaviest piece of furniture ever made for the past oh, five hours or so. It is finished. My wrists are killing me, and my lower back is none too fond of me right now. But it looks very nice. I've vacuumed the living & dining rooms, and ironed some melted wax out of the rug, without melting the rug in the process. I'm so Heloise I could just plotz. That would be Heloise as in "Hints from," not as in "Abelard and."

All right, time to fix me some dinner (the huz has a Big Band gig tonight, so I'm flying solo), and crash on the couch.

Later,


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com