but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

the tintinnabulation of the bells, bells, bells
Friday, May. 02, 2003

Now Playing - the tv from the next room.
Now Eating - a sugar-free lemon mint Ricola.
Now Feeling - still headachy.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


Mary Wilson, Mother of Motown...have I had the headache from Hell today.

Not helped by the fact that I wound up proctoring a 2�-hour-long exam after the instructor had been instructed repeatedly that he needed to proctor his own exam, so that students could ask any questions of someone in the know. So poof! there I was, thrust into proctoring without a magazine, pre-proctoring pee break or beverage of choice. At least I didn't fall asleep. But that's 2� hours of my life I'll never get back!

Two tylenol (which never works for me, but I was desperate) and three ibuprofen later, the headache had not let up. Lunch helped only a little, so it wasn't a hunger issue. And a change in the weather helped even less. I came home and slept from 6:30 to 8:00, when I awoke with one helluva start, convinced I had slept through to the next morning and was about to be nice and late for work.

I've done that only once or twice before, most notably back when I was first working at Theatre Three. I had a 42 mile commute. Sometimes I'd have a children's theatre show in the morning, and then nothing until my show in the evening, so I would shlep home. I had no place to crash while out there, so what else could I do? One Friday morning, I did my show and came home to nap. Awoke at 4:30, and ran around like a maniac for ten minutes, absolutely convinced I had slept through to the next afternoon and missed the evening show and Saturday's kids show. Until I realized it was really bright out for 4:30 a.m. Oddly enough, I was not concerned with the fact I missed the evening show, only that I would be murdered for missing the kids show! Priorities.

I went back to sleep tonight from 8 'til 10, then 10 'til 12:15. Head still hurts. Got to see Lisa Marie Presley sing on the Tonight Show, though. We were not impressed. She should stick to $cientology and bad celebrity marriages. I've heard drunken bar singers better than she.

Ah, well. Sleep, version 2.0.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com