but can she bake a cherry pie?

the here and now ~ too cool to be forgotten ~ if i wrote you ~ send me a postcard, drop me a line ~ where i'm from ~ variations on a design theme by... ~ i wish... ~ shameless self-promotion ~ host

put another nickel in
Monday, May. 05, 2003

Now Playing - "Different World" - Patty Larkin
Now Eating - nothing, but I had frites for lunch. Bad Mel.
Now Feeling - carbed-out.
Now Tweeting - Melanie


The (belated) Friday Five...

1. Name one song you hate to admit you like. "I Think I Love You" - The Partridge Family. I had their album as a kid, and rediscovered the song on one of those Rhino compilations.
2. Name two songs that always make you cry. "Left Me a Fool" � Indigo Girls; "When I Was a Boy" � Dar Williams.
3. Name three songs that turn you on. "I�ve Been Loving You Too Long" � Otis Redding; "I Only Have Eyes For You" � The Flamingos (my wedding song, and their version is swoonable); "Every Little Thing About You" - Raul Malo ::falls to the floor in a faint::
4. Name four songs that always make you feel good. �I Still Haven�t Found What I�m Looking For� � U2, the live version with the gospel choir (great put-the-top-down driving music); �The Difference� - The Wallflowers (same, especially the way the chorus just opens up�); "Carey" � Joni Mitchell; "Veronica" - Elvis Costello.
5. Name five songs you couldn't ever do without. "Love Is Here to Stay" - Gershwin; "Someone to Watch Over Me" - ditto...nope, I've run out. There are too many to list.


My starter crapped out over the weekend. Managed two more starts to get me to and from rehearsal, and dropped it off at our mechanic's. Huz met me there and we went back to his mom's to check on the cats and take in the mail. If I hadn't mentioned it, she's in Florida with my sister-in-law. After just two days with her, we think SIL has gotten a pretty accurate picture of what Huz's life has been like for the past year.

But I digress. On the way to MIL's house, we took a chance and stopped by the Best Man & Wife's house (just up the block), on the off chance that they'd be around and we could see their twins. And them, of course. But mostly those cute babies. Who are definitely cute. And mobile! There's something about squeezing delicious lil' babies that's just too much fun. It was good to see them all. I wish we had more free time to get together. Maybe this summer.

Crap. It's 6:00, and I have to head out to rehearsal. Perhaps I'll continue this at midnight while I'm dyeing my hair. Photo call tomorrow!

Random Quote of The Moment: With a square 9 volt battery and a little ingenuity, you can electrify a fudgesicle.


~^ would you like to leave word? ^~
0 of you lovely people have left word so far

~^ what was ~ what will be ^~

~^ randomize me! ^~

a very fine cat indeed - Friday, Jan. 17, 2014
happy new year! - Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013
this is where i am - Saturday, Jun. 30, 2012
this is how it is - Friday, Feb. 24, 2012
a very late last year's wrap-up - Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012



~^ ^~
~^ get notified when I update my site ^~
email:

Google
Web melwadel.diaryland.com

www.flickr.com


visitors since June 4, 2002
all this stuff is © 2002-2015 by me

hosted by DiaryLand.com